My Reviews (105)

Chicken with Dumplings

This is an easy chicken and dumpling dinner that serves boiled chicken with chicken dumplings that have been boiled in the chicken stock.
Reviews (105)


20 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DB
I thought this recipe very easy and tasted great. The dumplings were especially good. I followed the recipe in all aspects. Other reviewers had problems with the amount of water added to the dumpling portion but I had no issues there. The only elements that I changed were that I used boneless chicken breast in place of a whole chicken and I added a wee bit of milk for a thicker, creamier sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: _GORGEOUS1
In a word! DELICOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Flavil Jr
Excellent dish. Everyone loved it to the point that the leftovers in the frig were gone the next day. I added celery and onions to the stock and then strained them out after the chicken was cooked. Also used 1 egg plus 1 egg yoke. I had to then add more flour to form a dough. Kneeded the dough until until silky and let it rest for 10 mins before rolling out the dumplings. After all that it turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: GOOSE150
Have searched for dumpling recipe like my husband remembered from his childhood, tried this one and he raved about it, said this one was a keeper for sure. Been trying dumpling recipes for over 40 years
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Suz
Very good and easy recipe. Really good on a cold winter night. My husband and son loved it - so did I.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Noeller67
Good soup but I can't give it 5 stars since I had to add a lot of seasonings to make it good soup! Bay leaf, peppercorns, carrots, onion and celery to make the broth. These dumplings are egg noodle dumplings, not biscuit dumplings which taste very different but I love them both!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: ROBIN DIPIETRO
This is by far the easist chicken and dumplings recipe I have ever made. I served it to friends of mine and now they are fixing it for their families. Thank you so much for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: OmaCindy
Wonderful! I made the dumplings to go in my own soup recipe. There was maybe 1/4 of a cup of flour left in the bag..I just threw it in. I did use self rising as I live in The Netherlands and baking soda is hard to find. I found the dumplings very delicious and not at all hard. They also did not tast like flour. After reading that some people found the dough too sticky, I simply made sure that my surface for kneading the dough and rolling it out was very well floured. It worked well. My dutch husband preferred them over the doughy dumplings that I usually make and he loved those. Dumplings in my house will be these from now on!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: MIHNASTAR
This recipe is awesome! I really like the old-fashion taste of it and look, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: I.love.heritneo<3
It's awesome, i love the dumpling part, it looks like you need more broth for the flour but you DON'T it works right when you add it to the soup. I always put onions and celery , carrots to it to add more of a kick but the dumpling are EXCELLENT!!! thank you for your recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes