My Reviews (105)

Chicken with Dumplings

This is an easy chicken and dumpling dinner that serves boiled chicken with chicken dumplings that have been boiled in the chicken stock.
Reviews (105)


04 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: MAMMAMO
I was quite pleased to at long last discover a recipe which when produced matched my memories of the 1950's and the dumplings my Aunt made for me. This recipe is only missing her sweet presence to make it a duplicate. Thanks.MammaMO
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: TRENDSCOM
Dumpling part of this recipe does not work,WAY! to much liquid for two cups of flour!, I only printed this recipe to get dumpling recipe, because I always add carrots, celery, onions, and a small amount of potato, to my recipe, and garlic,rosemary,salt,pepper and thyme.This recipe basically is very bland, sorry :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: BaysChick
The dumplings are quick and easy to make as well as tasty! I made them to go in my own chicken soup recipe and the family loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GOGOGADGET
Just needed to tweak the water in which the chicken is cooked. Add onion,celery,carrots,garlic and anything else you would use to make a good broth.Drain before making the dumplings. Heather
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Angie
This recipe was wonderful! The only thing was that I rolled it out as thin as possible thinking it would thicken up a little; it may have been even better if I hadn't rolled it so thin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: ANAKIN
This is a great recipe, I have used is several times. It does make a lot, (I am usually only feeding 2 people) but it freezes really well. I make a double batch divide it in fourths and freeze 3 of them for later use. It is best to let it thaw for about 15 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NOX
I used chicken tenderloin instead of a whole chicken and cooked it in broth instead of salted water. I also added thickener, celery, carrots and some pepper to the broth and a little more flour to the dumplings so I could roll them out. It was a good basic recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
Again, I have to rave about another wonderful southern dish. I grew up on this stuff and have always had an appreciation for chicken and dumplings. Instead of making dumplings from scratch, try tearing biscuits into peices and using that instead...much quicker and tastes wonderful. Good Job Lillian.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: REDBEANSIDHE
It tasted so good, and even my pickiest of kids ate and asked for more! (That's a serious compliment!) Thank you! Although I did end up spooning the dumplings in, it still tasted wonderful, just like mom, and granny used to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Tarina
Excellent recipe that I have used for years. I'm not quite understanding why people insist on trying to make a rolled dumpling recipe into a drop dumpling recipe and then give low ratings because it did not work out! I love the idea to use the hot broth to make the dumplings; I have always used hot water... great idea! I do cut in about 1/4 cup of shortning before I add the hot liquid, kinda like making biscuits.I personally use self rising flour instead of all purpose so I don't need the baking powder.... I think this is a personal preference. One thing, I always add a little yellow food color to my broth before I add dumplings because sight is for some reason apealing. People expect chicken to be yellow and adding the color really makes a difference. Sometimes I add extra seasoning, sometimes I do not.... it all depends on my mood for the day. All in all, old fashioned dumplings were made to feed large families on limited resources and to this day they are still good! To this day, I am the only one in this family who makes rolled dumplings and every family get-together my husband volunteers my services! This is a good thing..... for him, he doesn't cook. Thanks for a simple recipe that has been around for years!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes