My Reviews (198)

Chicken and Prosciutto in an Asiago Cheese Sauce

This is more than your average chicken pasta with prime ingredients used to make this something special including Asiago cheese and prosciutto.
Reviews (198)


07 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Luv2CookDinner
This was restaurant quality, but I'd recommend a few changes: a small carton of cream is 2 cups so instead of buying a larger carton for just 1/4 cup more (a bit pricey and I'd rather not have leftover cream to cook w/ b/c of its high fat content) do not add all of the pasta; a whole bouillon is quite acceptable - who's really using 1/4 of it?! I didn't have prosciutto, but it really needs that flavor. I added peas and it completed the meal. Think ahead and reuse the same pots to make fewer dishes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: love2cook
This is an awesome recipe! I'm one of those cooks who just can't leave a recipe alone, so I changed it up a bit. I saute`ed the chicken in olive oil, and added 2 minced fresh garlic cloves, 1 tablespoon dried sweet basil, and 1 teaspoon sea salt. For the sauce, I used 3 1/2 cups heavy cream, and added dried sweet basil, 1/2 chicken bouillon cube, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 tablespoon real butter, and 1/2 cup chicken broth. I used a full cup Asiago cheese, and substitued bacon for the proscuitto. I also cooked the bacon, mushrooms, and fresh garlic in olive oil, rather than butter. My whole family loved this recipe! If you were to add capers and a sqeeze of fresh lemon juice, it would taste just like a favorite dish at a well known Italian Restaurant....which is what I plan to do next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Sabrina
Since my changes were only in the adjustment of quanity I still gave this recipe 5 stars. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper before cooking it. I also added more cheese and used an entire bullion cube to the sauce to add more flavor to it. I added more garlic when cooking the prosciutto. Also I felt that there was too much pasta for the amount of chicken/mushrooms & prosciutto that the recipe called for. I used 2 lbs of chicken, 1 cup of mushroom (next time I will make it 2 cups) and 1/2 cup of prosciutto. I was very excited when I saw this recipe and it reminded me of my favorite dish at the Macaroni Grill that they no longer carry. I recieved several compliments at dinner. Thank you for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jillian
Delicious! I used penne pasta and cut the amount in half. I didn't use chicken, I just doubled the amount of proscuitto. I also used 2 cups of mushrooms and added peas. This was so easy and quick to make but looks and tastes like you spent hours. UPDATE: This is the second time I've made this and this time I did it with the chicken. Definitely season the chicken with garlic, italian seasoning and a little salt and pepper while frying in a bit of olive oil. I still used 2 cups of mushrooms and 1 c. of peas along with a whole package of proscuitto so I doubled the sauce. I don't like a thin sauce so it was pretty easy to thicken with the cornstarch. Definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: mcqueenbee
Wow! This was very good! The original recipe needed a little kick so I added 1/2 tbsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. I used baby portabella mushrooms and added fresh spinach for color. I used the Asiago cheese and it definitely made the dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Jodie
I tweeked the recipe a little. I added 1/2 C minced onion, 3 cloves garlic, 1 C asiago cheese, 1 whole bouilon cube and seasoned the chicked with poultry seasoning prior to cooking. I also substituted 1/4 C milk for the cream, so I didn't have to buy 2 pints of cream. Next time I will add some vegetables to it. The recipe was a great base to start from.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: atrublkqueen
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars, I really liked it, but my gf, didn't care for it as much as I did. She doesn't like really creamy/cheesy dishes. But I thought it was great! My local store didn't have any prosciutto, so I had to use Turkey bacon, but it was still enjoyed! Thx!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: SCHU293
This was great. I left out the mushrooms and doubled the cheese and proscuitto. Was just as good re-heated 2 days later. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Tammy M.
This was ridiculously good. The recipe as it is written is probably okay, but I tweaked it up a bit. I marinated chicken breasts in olive oil, oregano, sage, rosemary, basil, salt & pepper and then cooked the chicken on the grill. I used a whole package of prosciutto which was 3 oz. In the sauce I used 2 cups of heavy cream, a whole chicken bouillion cube, and 1.5 cups of grated Asiago. The extra cheese made the sauce very thick even without the cornstarch so I poured in an additional 1/2 cup of half and half to thin it some. I made the sauce in a skillet and when it was done I poured it into the large pot of drained pasta. I quickly rinsed the skillet and used it to do the olive oil, garlic, mushrooms and then I thinly sliced the grilled chicken breasts and added it to the skillet sautee. That only took a few minutes and I poured the whole mixture from the skillet into the large pot of pasta and sauce and used a large spoon to toss it all together. I topped it with grated parmesan and parsley when I served it and it was even better than restaurant quality. Absolutely delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: iamelicesanchez
This was soooo yummy! I used a mix of three cheeses asiago, parmesan,and mozzerella and the whole chicken bullion cube instead of half. I through in some frozen veggies to cook with the pasta as well. Next time i will try half and half to cut the fat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes