My Reviews (44)

Chewy Oat and Rasin Biscuits

These are a wonderful oat biscuit that include cinnamon, walnuts and sultanas. Perfect for a morning tea or snack at any time of the day.
Reviews (44)


02 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Bob Ford
Excellent recipe. I add dark cocoa chips and a fresh grate of nutmeg.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Dennis
not an impressive outcome...mine turned out to be a soupy mess...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: AK_Jen
Nothing special. Needs salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Syndie
Cookies spread and were not chewy like I thought. I also thought the recipe needed some salt. I have a half batch left that I am going to try to bake at 325 to see if that makes a difference in spreading,
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: Gulshan Naqvee
Things to consider however : 1. to avoid cookie de-shaping add baking powder instead of baking soda. It will rise and not expand. 2. You can use vegetable oil instead of butter/shortening etc. 3. You must use ungreased pan/sheet to avoid a cookie de-shaping. 4. Instead of vanilla extract USE cardamom powder, it gives fresh taste to the cookie. I made these and IT all rocked. BAKED cookies first time! Baking is a science so use proper measurements.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Rachael Mercer
I followed it to the point and it ended up the worst I've ever done! I've never used milk before and I think that's what did it, but they came out flat, sticky more like a cereal texture!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: woodworm107
This sticky dough had no inclination to spread so the cookies ended up like mini rock cakes. They are more of a cake than a cookie and are definitely not chewy at all. They taste good though. I cooked mine for 14 minutes just to get them to brown otherwise they would have been a bit anemic looking. Not a recipe to save in my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: cristol_the_pistol
Mine came out bland even though I added chocolate chips, coconut and sugar. I did have to add wee bit more flour (1/4 cup) because I live at a higher altitude, so the the consistency was right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: JoDickson
Have just made these cookies
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
06 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: judy2304
These cookies had a great taste, and remained chewy even after 4 days. I made only a couple of changes. I used 1/4 cup coconut oil, and 1/2 cup softened butter. I increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon, and could have used more. The batter was very thick, and even when baked didn't spread as I expected it to. This may be because I let them sit on the counter for a little over an hour before I baked them. This would give the dry ingredients more time to absorb the liquid. For the first pan, I flattened them a bit after they started baking because the dough was still in a ball after they were more than half baked. For the second pan, I flattened them before I put them into the oven. I baked them for 12 minutes to get them to brown a little. After they cooled, I put them into a plastic bag, and 4 days later they were still moist and chewy. I will definitely make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes