My Reviews (18)

Crab Stuffed Rockfish

Chunks of crab meat are combined with bread and a range of seasonings before being stuffed into rockfish or any other boneless white fish fillets you may have.
Reviews (18)


15 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Hayley
Delicious! I wasn't really able to roll the rockfish, so simply topped the crab mixture over the fish and baked it flat. I added a bit extra Old Bay, lemon juice and tabasco at the end for additional flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: ARMY WIFE
I give the stuffing 5 stars but the fish only 3. I took the advice of one reviewer and used only about 2/3 of the crab. (I used imitation since I'm in Colorado). It was very yummy but rich. The fish however was bland. I did salt and pepper it before I stuffed it even though the recipe didn't say to. When it was almost done baking I sprinkled some paprika on the top to give some color. It looked sickly without it. Next time I will use some Old Bay on the fish itself. Overall very good and I will make it again. The family loved it. UPDATE: 6 YEARS LATER..... I happened to find crab meat and rockfish on sale in the same week and remembered this recipe. (We live in CO so it's a big deal). This time I did not use but about 3/4 of the crab meat. I seasoned the fish with Old Bay before rolling. Then I just buttered, salted, and peppered the tops before baking. The fish was done before the filling was really hot. Make sure you leave your filling out at room temp for a little while so it is not stone cold. To give the tops some color I broiled it for a few minutes. Then the Piece de Resistance was the "Wine Sauce for Seafood" recipe that I poured on top of each piece as served. Wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: lesandboy
I live on the Chesapeake Bay (Virginia) and this is pretty good! I used freshly caught rockfish from my next door neighbor. I will certainly try it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: sunkissedseashore
AMAZING! Seriously I have never made fish before but my husband caught Rockfish a week ago when he went deep sea fishing. This recipe was easy, fun and delicious!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: AZ93
This was a wonderful dish. My Dad has had radiation for prostate cancer and can't have hot/spicy stuff, so I left out the hot sauce. But it was delicious and flavorful all the same. I was afraid that the fish would look pretty (as another reviewer said) "sickly" without a coating, so I brushed the outside with butter and sprinkled with paprika. This was a lovely filling that didn't take away from the fish at all. Nice balance. Some kind of sauce probably wouldn't be bad, but wasn't necessary either. The fish was moist and the dish was very satisfying. I paired it with smashed red potatoes and green beans. I will make this again. Thanks to Chesapeake Baybe for the recipe and to Paula who encouraged me to try a dish with no photo (now submitted!) I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: JSimmons
This was really rich. I think if I made this again I would only use 1/2 pound of fresh lump crabmeat. Two of my family members enjoyed it and two said they would not want to have it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Morgan J
Very good!!! Added chives on top for extra flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: katyclair
made these for my friend Kara and me we loved it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Marilyn
Delicious! I sauteed shallots for the mixture and used fresh chives from my garden instead of parsley. I put a tad of butter on top, sprinkled with pakrika (took someone's suggestion) before I popped it in the overn. I didn't have white bread, used a multigrain that I toasted first. Really easy and very good. So quick! My family said 'keep this recipe'!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: IMATECHGIRL
This was really good. I picked up some Rockfish on sale but wasn't sure what to do with it but I wanted it to be special and not just grilled or something. This was just the recipe I was looking for. We both loved it. I used 1/2 cp of dried bread crumbs and only used about 1/2 lb of crabmeat. It was plenty to fill the 6 fillets I had. 3 were quite small so I just sort of folded them over the stuffing mix. It sounded a bit dry so I also made a creamy white wine sauce to go over it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes