My Reviews (17)

Cherry and Coconut Slice

This is a two layer slice the bottom being similar to a shortbread with the top layer being a combination of eggs, cherries, coconut and walnuts.
Reviews (17)


20 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: ELW
Excellent flavor! Bake the base for 15-20 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. Bake until golden brown on top. Cool on wire rack. Cut with a sharp knife and sprinkle with confectioners' sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Vickie Spencer
This has been a bar I've made for years. My husband has to have it every Christmas. I too double the recipe. I also bake the crust for a 20 minutes. I found it works well to lower the temperatue of the oven to 325 degrees during the last ten minutes of baking. Then the edges don't get so brown. compared to the outside edges
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: BAIMAO
Also one of my favorite childhood recipes. The only problem is that they go too quickly. I like to double to recipe and make it in a 13x9 inch pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Maureen
These are yummy. I used almost 3/4 cup cherries. as another reviewer suggested, I used almonds (did not have real cherries). Does anyone have an opinion, which is better- sour or sweet?? I rated it a 4 star- recipe did not state whether butter should be cold or soft, and it was not ready after baking 25 min. I baked it til golden brown with great results- a delicate, crispy layer on top-soft and chew in the middle. UPDATE: I tried it with fresh sweet cherries. The batter looked so wet-so I added 1/8-1/4 cup flour. A mistake! It came out too dense-like a heavy cake. Still a great recipe. Next time: It will be sour cherries- with no extra flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jaxmamma
The first time I made these I thought they were wonderful. I love coconut and cherry mixed together. May try a batch with almonds next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: David J Imm
Great bars, they received lots of good comments. Only thingid that the crust had a hard time staying together when taken out of the pan. Let it cool completely!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: JVORIH
My FAVORITE childhood recipe! If you like cherries, and you like coconut - guaranteed you'll think you died and went to heaven... Enjoy. I'd give it six stars if that were an option...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: cookinteacher
Very good, but I had to cook them longer than the recipe stated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: CLEO22
This is much better with toasted slivered almonds instead of walnuts, and real cherries instead of maraschinos.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Corinne Murphy
Deliciously different bar cookie that's easy, quick and fills the house with a decadent aroma. I followed the recipe exactly and had perfect results. Especially attractive on a Christmas/New Year's dessert plate. Thank you so much for sharing with us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes