My Reviews (204)

Spicy Tofu with Capsicum

Tofu, red capsicum, red onion and chillies, all quickly stir-fried in a sweet and sour sauce. If you like milder dishes, decrease the amount of dried crushed chillies or omit them altogether.
Reviews (204)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
QUADCHICK said:
Used different ingredients. Very tasty. I added chicken stock instead of water. When I open a can or box of chicken stock and have leftovers I pour it in an ice cube tray then put the frozen cubes in a zip top bag. Then you have small amounts available without opening a whole can.
 
03 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: holyfire
so yum! so easy! I changed some ingredients to suit what I had in the fridge. I didn't have chilli flakes but did have chilli sauce... worked just as well
 
09 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Teangi
 
18 May 2009
Reviewed by: Peanut1
A very tasty dish. It was a little heavy on the soy sauce for my taste, and I'll add more brown sugar next time for sweetness, but it had just the right amount of chilli and great flavour. This will become one of my favourite lunchtime recipes (my husband hates tofu so dinner is out!)
 
Comment:
16 Jan 2009
Marcelle said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Yum, this will be made often, I just added more vegetables as I couldn't be bothered making a separate vegetable dish; julienne carrots an cabbage because that is what I had, I think I might like to add bamboo shoots next time.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Something else. A wonderful and delicious find! We sliced our tofu into 2.5 x1cm rectangles and about 3 milimeters thick. Instead of just browning, we slightly deep fried it so that it was nice and crispy on the outside - not as healthy, but the texture is so much better! We also added about 1 tbs. of honey to the sauce to give it a bit more sweetness, and a handful of 'frying mushrooms' (my store carries this prepacked variety of shrooms best for frying, but shiitakes would work as well). This is a definite keeper of a recipe!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SCATTODOG said:
Used different ingredients. After tweeking a few things this was really a good dish everyone enjoyed. I love hot and spicy food but left out the chilli and pepper flakes so that my two year old could eat it. I pressed, froze and pressed again the tofu making it way less mushy and more resilient to work with. After cubing it I sprinkled soy sauce and mirin over it to soak in the flavours and let it sit for about 15 minutes before frying it in sesame oil with a dash of toasted sesame oil for more flavour. I added the vegetables including bean sprouts after the tofu was brown on all sides, cooked for the required length of time then added the liquid to which I added a little more brown sugar and mirin. We ate it over rice, but my son had his over bean thread. This was soooo good and even better the next day. Will definately be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: URBANCHICK
This was lovely -- very much like something you might get in a restaurant. I have been looking for a recipe like this for tofu for quite some time. We like the way the tofu gets brown and sealed on the outside yet stays moist and soft on the inside. The capsicums and garlic really bring a nice flavour to the sauce.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: QUILTQUEEN
This was the first time that I tried cooking tofu. I made sure to drain the tofu for and hour and half and i think that really helped the tofu. We added an extra clove of garlic, a touch of honey (in the sauce) and canned green chillis. It was wonderful. I usually don't like things that are too spicy but we added the entire amount of red capsicumand it was perfect. My mouth was tingling but nothing too bad. A great easy tofu recipe.
 
16 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Suzanne
After tweeking a few things this was really a good dish everyone enjoyed. I love hot and spicy food but left out the chili and pepper flakes so that my two year old could eat it. I pressed, froze and pressed again the tofu making it way less mushy and more resilient to work with. After cubing it I sprinkled soy sauce and mirin over it to soak in the flavors and let it sit for about 15 minutes before frying it in sesame oil with a dash of toasted sesame oil for more flavor. I added the vegetables including bean sprouts after the tofu was brown on all sides, cooked for the required length of time then added the liquid to which I added a little more brown sugar and mirin. We ate it over rice, but my son had his over bean thread. This was soooo good and even better the next day. Will definately be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes