My Reviews (155)

Cheesy Pork Pasta

If you liked macaroni and cheese as a kid, I'll bet you'll love this pasta with a cheesy tomato cream sauce.
Reviews (155)


29 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
This can be very good, but I have to say that 16 oz. of pasta is way too much here and the sauce needed a bit of work. I used half the amount of pasta (basically half a box of penne). I sauteed 1/2 cup of vidallia onion in 1 tbsp. of olive oil along with garlic. I used more than a tsp. and left out the bell pepper because I didn't have any on hand. I used two 14.5 oz. cans of seasoned diced tomatoes and one 6 oz. can of tomatoe paste to give it some thickness. I added some additional dried seasonings (basil, oregano, italian seasoning) to taste along with 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I fried the sausage (crumbled out of the casing) separately and added that to the sauce to avoid any greasiness. I let that simmer for about an hour and added the cup of heavy cream at the end and let that simmer on low. I served this over the pasta, garnished with fresh parsley and topped with grated parmesan vs. adding the cheese to the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: JULIECT
I made a few alterations. Doubled the recipe, using one lb hot italian sausage, one lb mild. Added an extra pepper and used half & half instead of heavy cream. After I had sweated the garlic, onions and peppers, I added the tomatoes and pureed them with a stick blender. (My family likes a smoother sauce.) Because I had blended the veggies, I browned the sausage in a seperate pan. I surprised the heck out of my husband with this dish. He is not a fan of peppers in cream sauce. While I was cooking he was standing over my shoulder saying "don't do it, there will be problems at the dinner table if you do." Meaning that the kids (ages 6&9) wouldn't like it. Well it was a hit. Hubby went back for seconds, with a sheepish look on his face after giving me grief while I was preparing dinner. I'm glad I made a double batch, because now I can pull the extra sauce out of the freezer for a quick week-night dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Gina
This was great! My friends loved it. Only change was that I cooked the sausage then added the onions, peppers and mushrooms to cook - I don't like mushy vegetables so I also set this aside and cooked the sauce alone. Added everything together and it was wonderful. Also if you like spicy - try adding some red pepper to the dish, it's amazing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Tamra Dougherty
I used Italian link sausage cut into 1/2 inch slices instead of the crumbles and it was amazing! I love this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Amy F.
I used spaghetti instead of the shells and chicken breast instead of the sausage- only because that's what I had- and boy, was this great! The parmesan blends so nicely with the tomato flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: THOMPSON07470
was very good. I added mushrooms and used half and half instead of heavy cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Kim Nance
I have no clue why anyone would give a bad rating to a recipe judging solely by a picture - which the author of the recipe did not even submit. Guess that's why I don't always go by the rating when looking for a recipe!! This is a fantastic recipe as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: chicklet
This was good. Everyone enjoyed it. I would have prefered it be a little cheesier so I think next time I will add more parmesan cheese or do parmesan and mozzarella.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: viburnum
I had some left over chicken sausage and was looking for a recipe to use it in. This turned out great! Used penne instead of shells, and substituted half and half for the heavy cream. Added mushrooms and red pepper for color, plus some red pepper flakes for a kick. Turned out fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Judith
My husband loved it and it was easy! This is definitely a keeper! I don't know if the pepper added anything to the dish, so if you don't have one don't go running out just for that. I finely chopped a shallot, instead of minced onion, to give it a sweeter taste. I also added red pepper flakes to spice it up. I used italian sausage because I did not have bulk. It made prep time a little longer because you have to brown them before cutting them into slices, but it worked out nicely. If it doesn't thicken up the way you expect, don't worry the cheese will thicken it up. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes