My Reviews (51)

Cheesy Fish Chowder

This is one of my favourite ways to cook fish. The chowder has a chicken stock base and includes baby carrots, potatoes and celery as well as the fish.
Reviews (51)


27 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: BARNKITTY
Good chowder! I did make a few changes. Sauteed the onions & celery together. Added a couple spoonfuls (no, didn't measure!) of flour to the onion/celery/butter mixture to make more of a roux, then added broth, milk, carrots, potatos. Also added marojam, oregano, basil, thyme, parsley, dash of paprika, and a bay leaf. Let the potatos and carrots cook for longer (we like softer). We really enjoyed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: BajaValle
THIS WAS EXCELLENT!! I bought some catfish nuggets on sale and didn't know what the heck to do with them. Then I saw this recipe and gave it a try. I had some LEFTOVER Shrimp and Corn and threw that in to bulk it up. This is so versitile I will definitly keep this one handy. Thanks Kathy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Jennifer Stevens
My husband told me to give this recipe five stars! I followed the recipe exactly except for a couple of substitutions: instead of milk (I was out) I used a mixture of heavy cream and water (2 parts water, three parts heavy cream), instead of chicken broth (I was out of that too) I mixed some water and chicken flavored Top Ramen mix together and it turned out great. I used extra sharp, aged cheddar cheese which gave it a nice flavor. I also added a pinch of Tony's Cajun seasoning and topped the whole thing off with paprika. Really delicious, especially if you have some extra catfish and don't know what to do with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2006
Reviewed by: Tammy
Very easy to make and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: JKSFITZ
I didn't really think I'd like catfish, but this was really great! The kids liked it, too! Next time I'll add some more herbs and the corn, as someone else suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: shopclk
Great soup! Everyone enjoyed it. I made some changes that were suggested and some of my own. I used skim milk and I sautéed the onions & celery together as suggested by others. We also cooked the vegetables longer too. The big change I made that I think made my soup absolutely delicious was I used Cajun seasoned catfish. The flavor permeated the soup and it was AWESOME. Now, of course, you must like Cajun flavors. It was not real strong, but it was wonderful. We all enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
This recipe is so simple and delicious.. I followed the recipe's instructions ALMOST exactly (I decided to use a 1/2 tsp of salt instead of celery salt), and it turned out great! The only thing I'd do differently next time is to add more cheese though. Other than that, my family and friends loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2006
Reviewed by: JANN
This was okay. It tasted a little weird, but I think it's because my catfish was not the freshest. I threw out the catfish and mixed in drained canned salmon, which tasted much better. Next time, I'll use imitation crab meat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: KKALVIN
Put a nice garnish and this 5 star meal is fit for a king! A must for catfish lovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: BETHANNE770
Sooo good! I made lots of changes, but tried the base recipe and it was very good! It definitely needed some seasoning, I used cajun seasoning and Old Bay and oregano. I didn't have enough fish (used tilapia) so I supplemented some shrimp. Added some crumbled turkey bacon to the top. Yummmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes