My Reviews (265)

Kielbasa Sausage and Pasta Bake

This is an easy cheese and pasta bake that features kielbasa sausage. I like the flavour of the fried onion in this dish rather than onion that is cooked in the white sauce which is how I previously made it.
Reviews (265)


30 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Melissa Goff
I followed this recipe to a T. However I had mixed reviews from everyone at the table. Hubby liked it, my kids were harder to please on this dish...but the one thing they agreed on was they didn't care for the bread crumbs. Maybe use a lot less then a whole cup. And maybe Panko bread crumbs. The bread crumbs could have soaked up too much of the creamyness to this dish. 1/2 cup or less probably would have been fine. And the kids didn't care for the kielbosa in it either...which I found to be strange because they love kielbosa. I thought it had a nice flavor overall, but agreed to much bread crumbs. If the kielbosa would have been left out I feel they would have enjoyed it better. One child, who will eat almost anything, said it tasted funny and doesn't want me to make it again...Hubby wants it again. So this review on rating it has been very difficult. I will say I'll attempt it again, with some different modifications, to see if it suits everyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Cheryl
My family loved this. I only used half of onion, added 1 tsp of ground mustard, used 1 cup half/half - 1 cup milk. Used 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs mixed with melted butter for the topping. Adding the Kielbasa makes this very filling, added a salad and that was dinner. Only 3 of us and had enough leftovers for the next night. Will be making again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Melinda Steele StCyr
I tend to make this a bit differently from my sister... extra cheese, less onion, and crushed crackers instead of breadcrumbs. But it's a great base recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: ie22
My family loved this. I've made it twice. My changes/suggestions would be to make sure you cook the onion long enough so its not too strong. I even use part whole wheat flour part unbleached. I also used 1/2 the breadcrumbs and substituted panko bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: susan
I used a package of little smokies instead of kielbasa. Also added some cheeze whiz and shredded cheddar cheese, istead of the cubed to the rest of ingredients. Forget the bread crumbs A dash of lea and perrins, soy sauce, a few chopped green onions, mushrooms...optinal...the more cheese the better....this was great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: TAFFELDT
Wonderful! I am very picky about my Mac 'n cheese and this was great! My kids panicked about the kielbasa at first, but they liked it once they tasted it! I did use a blend of sharp and mild cheddar cheeses to tame the flavor for us. The only change I will make for next time is to use about 1/2 of the bread crumbs. They were way to thick for our taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: kimlandziak
My whole family liked this one but I think I would use about 1/2 the onion next time rather than the whole thing. Also i shredded the cheese rather than cubing it because I find that it melts into the roux easier and more smoothly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Lee
This was ok but wasn't very cheesy and I added extra cheese to it. Next time I will add a cheese like velveeta to help make it creamier and cheesier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: ktmdsn
I loved this recipie. I have tried to make homemade mac and cheese before and it turned out clumpy. It may have been user error, but for some reason, this one worked for me. The only thing I did different was I added a little bit of Mrs Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning after I had the cheese sauce all melted. Even the child that we call the pickatarian loved this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Vicky
This was ok..I was expecting more rich cheese flavor..Instead of cubed cheese, I would use shredded..The cubes make the prep time way too long..Otherwise, it's just ok.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes