My Reviews (15)

Beef, Barley and Bean Dinner

This is an easy to make dinner that combines, beef mince, pearl barley, kidney beans, capsicum, tomatoes and zucchini to make a tasty and easy dinner.
Reviews (15)


28 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Smithchelle
I left out the barley. Thought it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: MaraAllen
I pretty much made this tonight, without having seen this recipe. Being a casserole, you can change things as you see fit. I used cumin instead of oregano/basil, canned diced tomatoes, canned tomato sauce, no zucchini nor beans, and folded in spinach at the very end. I was awesome! I also used some of it to stuff those mini bell peppers (see photos). They were delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Kaylala0426
I left out the kidney beans because we aren't bean people and I didn't have any but otherwise this was delicious. Warm and hearty and perfect for a cool evening.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Holly
Awesome way to use a bunch of garden veggies! Substituted quinoa for barley, and it really doesn't need the cheese, in my opinion. Wonderful! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2011
Reviewed by: Netsy3
absolutely loved this! I didn't have kidney beans, so I used canned lentils. Wasn't sure how it would be with the lentils, but it was actually very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: loverosemary
Great recipe! We really enjoyed this, and liked that the meat/veggie mixture was paired with barley. I added about four more cloves of crushed garlic and put a little shredded parmesan cheese/chives on the top instead of cheddar. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: DB
This was a pretty yummy recipe. I used quinoa instead of barley and added more veggies than it called for. The instructions said to bring it to a boil however there was no liquid to boil once all the ingredients were put together so I added some water, maybe a cup or so. I thought the flavors were pretty good, my husband added a little taco sauce for extra flavor/spice and ate it with chips (he needs something crunchy with his food). I would make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: cookin'gal
This meal was very good! I would recommend adding a little salt to the water for the barley. I was tempted to add more zucchini than the recipe called for but I felt for the first time I should make the recipe exactly as directed. The amount of zucchini was just perfect so I'm glad I didn't add more. Like another reviewer said, the cheese is good but you don't really need it. Beause I have a cholesterol problem, I put a little cheese on part of my meal, then left it off the rest of it. As good as it was I felt it was missing a little something but ketchup took care of that! I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: 2sisters
Easy dinner. Used cauliflower (only veg I had) and salsa. Terrific. Served it on nacho chips for kids, on a cooked potatoe for healthy option. Really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Monique
Great Supper!! Not too difficult and lots of healthy tasty flavors. I made it vegetarian by using veggie burger crumbles instead of beef. Super yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes