My Reviews (19)

Roast Beef Tenderloin with Red Wine Sauce

This is a beautiful roast beef tenderloin that is covered with a rich dripping based red wine sauce. Ideal for a Sunday lunch or a special dinner.
Reviews (19)


13 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: VORCHA
Fablous and really easy! I adjusted this recipe to make a whole beef tenderloin for a dinner party of 12. Even tripling the recipe was still very easy to put this on the table. Served with boiled new red potatoes with garlic, caesar salad, burgandy wine and chocolate lava cakes for desert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: robinSmith
This marinade was absolutely delicious, so was the sauce. I made some changes though. I did not roast the meat. I coated it with the oil, herbs, and stuffed it with garlic and let it marinate about 30min. then I cut a couple small pieces off and set aside for the sauce. I then grilled the meat. The meat pieces and the extra marinade I put in the pot in place of the meat drippings and then added the other sauce ingredients and extra herbs. It was absolutely to die for. My husband said it was so good he's not sure why we bother going out to eat haha
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: DadWhoLoves2Cook
very good probably make again. lots of flavor
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Jeanine
This was fantastic! The sauce is to die for. There were only two things that I did differently: I let the olive oil, lemon juice and herbs soak into the meat for 24 hours and I added sliced portabella mushrooms to the sauce. Absolutely incredible
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: sxarnold
Effectively, an expensive cut of meat from a specialty market was boiled and turned out very chewy. The sauce is the only thing that prevented me from throwing it out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: ellie may
Well, first of all, DO NOT PUT THE ROAST IN THE WATER! Put the roast ON the rack OVER the water. I opened the roast up and put all the goodies inside, except rosemary. Increased all the spices to at least 1 teaspoon each and tripled the garlic (of course, I live for garlic); you can put your choice of favorite spices in there but Tarragon is a must, retied the roast tightly. Preheated a cast iron skillet with olive oil to very hot, covered the roast with seasalt and fresh ground pepper and seared it on all sides, before sticking it in the oven, with a teaspoon of rosemary bits sprinkled on top, because I love the smell of it! I wouldn't dream of having this yummy dish without Béarnaise sauce, that is also classic for Chateaubriand, but the addition of shallots & Crimini mushrooms to the recipe sauce made it super yummy for me. Spoon the recipe sauce over for plating, but have the Béarnaise in a side dish for dipping, plus the classic Chateaubriand in France always has Chateau Potatoes, which are also yummers with the Béarnaise! I always use a good Cabernet when cooking with red wine; don't cook with wine that you wouldn't drink, the quality matters! Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2010
Reviewed by: Brat
I have made this several times now, and it always is delicious. I often don't even make the sauce, but just use the meat preparation. This tender cut of meat is great all on its own. NOTE: I saw another reviewer saying that they boiled an expensive cut of beef. The meat should be in a roasting pan on a rack and the water sits underneath for moisture. Don't set the meat in the water. I also have found that it tasted better with well cracked fresh pepper, not whole peppercorns, that's just my personal preference. I find whole peppercorns a little overpowering. I love this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Very good recipe. Served with garlic mashed potatoes. I used more than a "pinch" of the spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Kara Ceschini
Very good classic taste. I love the herb/wine taste, it's like the old Italian recipes...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: mikomine
Used the red wine dijon reduction on another recipe here for herb crusted tenderloin and the sauce was out of this world. Easy to make and very flavorful will use it again and again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes