My Reviews (38)

Broccoli and Mushroom Penne

This is an easy vegetarian pasta bake that features broccoli and mushrooms. It is similar to one at a local restaurant but a I think a little better.
Reviews (38)


30 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Chef Damone
This is pretty bland; however, here is what I did to improve on it... Added: 1/2 diced yellow onion 1 diced red pepper and I used EVOO instead of the butter. On a second version I used the above ingredient changes and then used whole wheat pasta. Thinking about adding steamed sliced carrots next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Jillian
Simple and just plain delicious! I usually have this as a side dish, but tonight I need something quick and this was perfect for a "meatless" weeknight meal. I used a steam in bag of broccoli and sauteed some fresh portabella mushrooms in a little olive oil along with the garlic. I didn't bother baking this, but just tossed everything together with a little olive oil, a bit of salt and cracked black pepper then topped it with some shredded Parmesan and Romano cheese - delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
Good recipe, Karen. I added a bit of onion to the mushroom saute, (used fresh shrooms)more garlic and just a touch of Italian seasoning. Topped with a little fresh basil and parm. I would definitely eat this again, and thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: EMILIEA1A
Made this tonight and thought it was great. I made a few minor tweaks - used cavatappi noodles, added extra garlic, a splash of Worcestershire sauce, and some leftover frozen shrimp I had. It would have been just as good without the shrimp. Also topped it off with a couple of handfuls of mozzarella before baking. After tasting the final outcome, I think this would also be good with portabellas and/or a pesto sauce mixed in. Will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: RMB
We have a similar recipe at a local restaurant that is very popular with patrons. Based on other's recommendations, I jazzed it up. I used EVOO and butter (the butter is the taste it needs), and added a dash of kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. What an easy side dish to grilled pork chops!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Lu
This was one of the best side dishes I've made from Allrecipes. I love broccoli and mushrooms and struggle with ways to make them creative and new. The result was amazingly delicious. My only changes were using a vegetable corkscrew pasta instead of cavatelli, which created a colorful palatte. And I used fresh mushrooms. It was sooo good. I did add a bit of salt and pepper as well, but I thought it had great flavor; not bland at all. I can't wait until lunch tomorrow to have more and to schedule a dinner party so I can show it off! Thanks so much for a fabulous recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: HEYBRO31
This was a great dinner, didn't have a lot of flavor. I used 1/4 c. olive oil instead of butter, maybe that's why. I was trying to make it less fat. I used a parm and romano mix. I will make it again and play around with the flavors
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: CURLYQ0714
My cousin gave me this recipe to try, and my husband and I LOVED it!! Not exactly a "heart healthy" dish, but I'm thinking of substituting some or all of the butter for olive oil next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: BellGal
This is a delicious dinner and is easy to make! I spiced it up a little with some crushed red pepper flakes and various seasonings. We also tried it by adding pesto to it, but I like it better without. You could use less butter, about 1/2 as much is enough. I added extra parmesan cheese and topped it with mozzarella before baking. I will definitely make this many more times!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Lisa Larson Tisone
Made this last night, it was very good. My kids like things like butter noodles and other bland tasting dishes. I was out of mushrooms but went for it anyway and they were very happy although, I did add onion with my garlic and a pinch of garlic salt (we're big garlic fans and I didn't have three cloves). We all liked it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes