My Reviews (945)

Soy, Honey and Lime Chicken

Honey, soy sauce and lime juice combine to make a super simple marinade that is the best I have found for chicken. You can bbq after 30 minutes but it's better if left longer.
Reviews (945)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ERINPT said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Awesome!! I made this chicken last night on the grill, and it left me wanting more! After reading some of the reviews I did tweak this to my liking. I prepared the marinade the night before. I first started with 1 batch, and realizing how little it makes, so I decided to double the recipe. I used all together 3 tbsp soy sauce, doubling calls for 6, so I cut in half, about 3 tbsp of honey, 2 tbsp oil, juice from 2 fresh limes(squeezed dry), 2 tsp of garlic, and chicken(I used chicken tenders). Lowering the soy sauce and upping the honey and lime juice is key. I can see how the soy could become a prominent flavor. I marinated over night, turning once. The next day I grilled on low, and the chicken came out tender, juicy, and full of flavor. The flavor was very well blended. You could taste just a hint of everything. My family loved this. There were no leftovers disappointingly. The next time I will be sure to make a little extra marinade and set it aside. This would be great to have on hand at dinner for an extra kick of flavor and juices. Also, I served this with the oven roasted potatoes from this site, and asparagus (which we put on the grill with the chicken). I topped everything off with some fresh parmesan and romano cheese.
 
Comment:
16 Nov 2009
Lactosefree said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This was a lovely recipe. I did what lynjoymac suggested and added coriander and chilli to the recipe. I cut up the chicken, stuck it in the marinade then left it for a couple of hours. I then used it in a stir fry with mushrooms, snowpeas and quinoa. It was beautiful.
 
28 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: lynjoymac
Maybe SAUTEFLAMBE could try recipe with a hit of chilli & chopped coriander which I did & enjoyed it!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SAUTEFLAMBE said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This recipe was boring and lacked the flavour I was expecting. I made a few changes. I upped the lime juice, lowered the soy sauce, used tenderloins instead of breasts and left it to marinade overnight. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either and it left my friend and I longing for more flavour. I probably will not be making this again.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Jeannette
My husband & I loved the flavours of this dish! The ingredients really blended well together, adding some sweetness to the dish. I marinated the chicken overnight & then placed them in a tin foil-lined pan (with the marinade, and baked in a 350 degree preheated oven for 25 minutes. I served it with steamed white rice, drizzled with the cooked sauce. Next time I will definitely try them grilled!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Nikki
This chicken was SO good! I managed to grill it perfectly, and it was very moist. I served it with coriander lime rice, tropical fruit salad and a green salad. What a great meal. Oh, and the chicken was even better the next day on toasted bread with melted cheese, deli mustard and sliced tomatoes (my husband's creation). Thanks!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ANNE LAMBORN
I marinaded this overnight and in the morning threw some prawn in, too. It was incredible! Great taste and very tender chicken.
 
09 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Melissa & Adam
Awesome!! I made this chicken last night on the grill, and it left me wanting more! After reading some of the reviews I did tweak this to my liking. I prepared the marinade the night before. I first started with 1 batch, and realizing how little it makes, so I decided to double the recipe. I used all together 3 tbsp soy sauce, doubling calls for 6, so I cut in half, about 3 tbsp of honey, 2 tbsp oil, juice from 2 fresh limes(squeezed dry), 2 tsp of garlic, and chicken(I used chicken tenders). Lowering the soy sauce and upping the honey and lime juice is key. I can see how the soy could become a prominent flavor. I marinated over night, turning once. The next day I grilled on low, and the chicken came out tender, juicy, and full of flavor. The flavor was very well blended. You could taste just a hint of everything. My family loved this. There were no leftovers disappointingly. The next time I will be sure to make a little extra marinade and set it aside. This would be great to have on hand at dinner for an extra kick of flavor and juices. Also, I served this with the oven roasted potatoes from this site, and asparagus (which we put on the grill with the chicken). I topped everything off with some fresh parmesan and romano cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Roni
This chicken was SO good! I managed to grill it perfectly, and it was very moist. I served it with cilantro lime rice, tropical fruit salad and a green salad. What a great meal. Oh, and the chicken was even better the next day on toasted bread with melted cheese, deli mustard and sliced tomatoes (my husband's creation). Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: jng
My husband & I loved the flavors of this dish! The ingredients really blended well together, adding some sweetness to the dish. I marinated the chicken overnight & then placed them in a tin foil-lined pan (with the marinade, and baked in a 350 degree preheated oven for 25 minutes. I served it with steamed white rice, drizzled with the cooked sauce. Next time I will definitely try them grilled!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes