My Reviews (166)

Beef Stuffed Shells

A simple beef pasta sauce mix is made then stuffed into large pasta shells, aranged in a baking dish with addition pasta sauce and sprinkled with cheese.
Reviews (166)


16 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: RogueOnion8
I've now made this a couple of times and recommend the following changes: Scale the recipe (if necessary), triple the sauce, double the garlic, add some italian seasoning, melt Mozarella on top instead of the Romano. Delicious! I look forward to making this many, many more times.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Joey's Mom
These stuffed meat shells are so good! They are very creamy and full of flavor. The only thing that I added was about 1/2 box of chopped spinach to the mixture. (My husband isn't wild about cooked spinach, but what he doesn't know, won't hurt him LOL)! I have tried other stuffed meat shell recipes, and they just didn't taste right. This one is a keeper! I will definately make this again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
I only used 1 & 1/2 lbs of meat. I added some chopped onions (probably about 1/2 cup, maybe more) to the hamburger mixture, omitted the egg & garlic salt & increased the minced garlic. After hamburger was cooked, I deglazed the pan w/ about a 1/2 cup or so of pinot grigio (it's what I had open) & quickly reduced it down by half. This helped add flavor & moisture to the mix. I added about half a pkg. of chopped, frozen but thawed spinach, as well as some basil, oregano & parmesan cheese when I added the cream cheese ( I decreased the cheese some per other reviews) & pasta sauce. I had some mixture leftover so I stuffed some manicotti shells & froze them. I topped the shells w/ mozzarella before baking & a little romano & fresh chopped parsley after baking. These were delicious! I thought the wine added a nice dimension to the dish. I'm eager to try it w/ some italian sausage w/ the hamburger...thanks Cara!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: HBfuninsun
Delicious! i used 1 lb ground turkey. the original recipe calls for 3 lbs meat, i think thats why other reviews state its too dry and i think 1 box of shells would NEVER be enough for 3 lbs of meat. i also added 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper, 1 chopped onion and about 1TBS of italian seasoning while the meat was cooking. FYI~there is no need to cook the shells before stuffing. cooked pasta is a bit hard (for me) to handle. take the cooking time for the pasta (10 mins) and add it to the baking time (45 minutes total should do it)~cover with foil the first 30 minutes and top with cheese and bake uncovered 15 more and it is just GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Cali
I just made this last night for myself and my husband, following the recipe exactly. This produces an enormous amount of food! However, the shells freeze and re-heat easily. It was definitely a hit. However, I felt like I needed more pasta sauce - maybe 2 jars instead of 1. The shells were not completely covered. This tastes delicious and was really easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Shenadoah
I only used about 3/4 lb ground meat and about 1/2 box stove top stuffing mixed into the cooked meat mixture. That really put it over the edge and gave it great flavor! Needs more sauce too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: MEALPLANNINMOMMA
This is a wonderful recipe! I added a few extra spices like sweet basil, oregano and a lot more garlic. My family LOVED the finished product and has requested it again in the same weeek. The cream cheese adds a creamy texture that makes it unique to most shell recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: TOBIE077
everyone just loved this recipe - also froze a batch and served 3mths - later and were still a big hit
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: VALERIE7430
Excellent! These shells were awesome, the cream cheese really gave them that extra little tang. The only thing I did was add a little oregano to the meat mixture. Delicious I can't wait to make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: AMOS1020
This came out pretty good. Makes a lot. I split the recipe and froze half of it for later. I only used about 2 1/2 lbs of hamburger and it still made plenty. I added more garlic and fresh parsley. My husband and kids really liked it. I would use more sauce next time also and maybe used multiple cheese on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes