My Reviews (36)

Caramel Shortbread Slice

Shortbread is the base in this slice that is then topped with homemade caramel and melted chocolate. Cut into bars or squares.
Reviews (36)


10 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cdnshaz
FINALLY GOT IT RIGHT!! after using at least 4 different recipes for these squares, this one is the only one that worked!! I did make sure I read all reviews first for this any other same type recipe. After reading I did a couple different things, I didn't have almond so used same amount of extra flour, poked holes in base before baking, came out fine. I did use non stick paper with non stick spray so it would come out of pan. I let the base get stone cold before adding caramel. I did boil caramel center for the full 7 minutes and yes I got the brown flecks in it, but you couldn't notice on the end product. Still not sure it would take I poured it on the base, let it sit in fridge for 30 mins or so then went directly to freezer until stone cold. The top I used half semi chips and half milk chocolate and added tbsp of crisco to make top shiny. As caramel was very cold, chocolate started to harden almost immediatly..which was great, b/c I then was able to score the chocolate at that time. Put it back in fridge, couple hours later, it removed from pan, cut along score lines, no broken chocolate, base was fine and didn't fall apart....yummy....I love these aquares and have finally found a recipe that works.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: RSBORROR
I have made this recipe every year now for 3 years and each year I'm asked to share it. I've made one change - I substitute brown sugar (lightly packed) for the white sugar, which I feel gives it more of a caramel flavor. I haven't had any problems with the caramel setting up, but I do cook it for the full 7 minutes suggested. I use light corn syrup in place of the golden syrup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
As is, the recipe is a 4-star, but I think it can be made into a 5-star. Other reviewers didn't mention having any trouble with an excess pool of butter forming after the caramel was cooked, but I sure did; I drained at least 1/4c of butter from the caramel before spreading it on my shortbread crust; otherwise, I would have had a mushy crust, and the gooey caramel that some complained of. I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips for the topping as I had no milk chocolate in the house; even though I'm a bigger fan of semi-sweet, I think milk chocolate may be better with this so it doesn't mask the flavor of the caramel so much; next time, I would definitely sub brown sugar for white in the caramel mixture to further bring out the flavor. Also, I had to cook the caramel mixture much longer than 5-7 minutes; it was more like 20-25 minutes to get it to the nice golden color I was looking for. This may have been because I had to use light corn syrup as it was all I had. This recipe does take some time; to speed things along, I put the shortbread in the freezer for 20-30 minutes to help with the cooling process, and again to help cool and firm up the caramel, and again to harden the chocolate top. Love the combo of shortbread, caramel, and chocolate; it is somewhat like a Twix bar! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Mary!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: KonaCook
I've made this recipe several times over the past few years and have had tasty success each time Be sure to beat the crumb mixture for a long time before pressing into the pan and doing the fork-holes I also use a larger pan, I htink it's a 9x13 (glass rectangle) and that's the best change I've done. It allows each layer to be thinner so everything is less prone to crumbling but still oh so delish I also cut them into teeny tiny squares, use high quality milk chocolate bar for half the pan and dark or semi-sweet with coarse sea-salt sprinkled on top for the other half. Both variations get rave reviews and I always end up making another batch before the holidays are over. (Have one baking up this moment). Give 'er a try, it's great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: helenasmommy
I have two problems with this recipe: the shortbread crumbles when you try to cut it, and the carmel is waaay too sweet. It smelled great on the stove until I added the sweetend condensed milk and it just ruined it. I used brown sugar as other suggested which really gave it a carmel smell, but again the condensed milk just made the carmel mixture gross. If for some reason I tried this again I would find something other than the condensed milk and use another shortbread recipe. Great idea, and it set up well but just way too sweet. I'll stick to the Twix bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Franny
Fantastic!! My sister calls these "Fake Twix bars". I've made this recipe a couple of different ways including the original and every batch got rave reviews. If you do not have ground almonds, you can substitute 1/4 cup additional flour. It's not as tasty but it still turns out delicious. Also, here in the States it might be hard to find Lyle's Golden Syrup so you can substitute light corn syrup if need be. Again, not as good but most everyone won't notice a difference. On another batch I added 1/2 tsp. of salt to the caramel mixture so there's more of a sweet/salty taste to these and they came out terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: TwoDCsPlus1
YUM! YUM! YUM! I made these last night and they are WONDERFUL. I'm having a hard time trying to save them for Christmas guests and not eat it all myself. I have NO IDEA what golden syrup is, so I just decided to wing it and substitute light corn syrup . . . and the finished product is great! Reminds me a lot of a Twix bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: ISSIEBERGER
I first tried caramel shortbread while living in Northern Ireland. I've wanted the recipe for years!!! This recipe is delicious and soooo easy. Everyone who tried it was ranting and raving about how rich and yummy this dessert is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Keri St
Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is a pleasant surprise to find that it doesn't end up sickly sweet. I made this for a function at work and everyone wanted the recipe. Needless to say there wasn't a crumb left. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JOBEBBE
thanks to the person who suggested brown sugar instead of white. i cooked the shortbread a little too long by accident, but it turned out great because instead of twix bars, they're like skor bars (the cookie part is crunchy, not the caramel). didn't have corn or golden syrup, so i substituted honey for it. worked well. thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes