My Reviews (58)

Blueberry Dessert Cake

A warming dessert cake - sweetened blueberries are baked with a cake mix on top. Serve warm with fresh cream.
Reviews (58)


07 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: mathildedf
Great recipe! However, instead of using 1 full cup of sugar over the blueberries, I only used 1/2 cup. I think I might use 1/4 cup next time as it was still quite sweet for me. I loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Lynn
My kids and I were looking for some dessert that we could make with some blueberries that were in our fridge. This was easy to make with 2 kids, and turned out great!! The only thing that we changed was using butter in place of the shortening. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: kitchengoddess
Fantastic! We're in the Annapolis Valley and blueberries are just coming into season, so this was a lovely way to ring in the new blueberry season! I had to make a couple of changes - I had no white sugar so I had to substitute Splenda. Good to know I can make this for my father in law, who is diabetic. Also, I only used 1/2 the splenda on the blueberries as a whole cup seemed too much and I was right on - it was a lovely combination of sweet/tart. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. The grunt was so delicious served with homemade vanilla ice cream out on our front porch looking at the tide going out. Perfection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Louiselombard
Wow! This is good. I had no idea what a grunt is, but it seemed like a fun idea to tell my husband that he was having "grunt" for dessert after I found this when looking for something to do with some blueberries I had bought. This was very quick and easy to make and tasted so good. Only thing I did different was to reduce the amount of sugar to about 2/3 cup after I tasted my blueberries to see how sweet they were. Definitely going to make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: vicki woodyard
I had to use butter instead of shortening and it was ridiculously delicious. Easy, tempting and scrumptious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: KIRSTIN243
This was awesome! Just like we had on honeymoon in Atlantic Canada! I had to use frozen blueberries, as good ones are hard to find this time of year, but it still turned out well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Shanna Sarr
Delicious! Used 2/3c sugar + 2 tsp lemon juice with my blueberries, and I used buttermilk in place of milk for a extra rich crust. It was fantastic! Baking time was 35 minutes at 350.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: poker_crystal
I really enjoyed this! I used splenda instead of white sugar and it tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LISAVS
Baked up just perfect in a little under 40 minutes! Hailing from the Annapolis Valley in NS, this dessert is a must at blueberry season! Served it up with some whipped cream! Wouldn't change a thing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Clinton Dembinsky
After I had started this recipe, I discovered that I was almost out of all purpose flour. I opened a boxed cake mix and used the cake flour. I also used Splenda for the sugar (diabetic). It turned out great, but with a cake like topping instead of the dropped mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes