My Reviews (17)

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Bars

A biscuit like base is cooked then a topping combing peanut butter and chocolate is added. Cool then cut into your preferred serving size.
Reviews (17)


19 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ROBY
what we did was 2C oats, 1C flour, 1C cocoa powder. Just a couple mins longer on the bake time for me. Next time I might add an egg. Or even rice krispy cereal in place of some of the oats.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: BIGBOOTS
Myself and my husband love chocolate with peanut butter and this cookie really satisfied the chocolate tooth! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: JESSIE6381
These bars tasted good, but they were TOO greasy (and I would have used half the amount of vanilla). Quick solution: I cut the bars 10x2 (instead of making 40 bars). Then I crushed graham crackers in a large plastic ziploc bag and coated each bar individually. Then I wrapped each bar in tin foil and voila...homemade candy bars, ready to eat on the run.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: PEGGY_LEITH
My husband LOVED this! I thought it was too rich, but he asked me to separate the dough in half and put an extra chocolatey layer down the middle. My eldest looks forward to having these after school.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: TasteTester
I thought this bar was really good, but I think it could be better. Next time I make it I'm adding a little salt to the oatmeal mixture, maybe 1/4 tsp, and a little salt to the chocolate/peanut butter spread, also probably 1/4 tsp. I agree with another reviewer that the vanilla could but cut in half. Also, be sure to press down hard when "patting" the oatmeal mixture into the pan. Otherwise, they will fall apart when you cut them. I tried the suggestion of coating with graham cracker crumbs (smashed a graham cracker in a ziplog bag, then dropped a square in the bag and shook around), and it helped tremendously with the messy factor, without changing the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Rachael
Tastes just like a candy bar!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Kaci
Really, really, really good! I didn't have any problems with crumbling, I just wish the chocolate and peanut butter on top wasn't so "gooey"...if the "topping" could be a little less gooey I would have given this recipe 5 stars! Other than that though - these were GREAT! I will definitely make these again! I also think that I might try just the oatmeal cookie bar with some nuts and dried cranberries! YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JULIECT
Although I liked this dish, and it was very easy to make, I probably won't make it again. I was careful not to overbake and even though I added a few minutes to the bake time the bars felt underdone. They just didn't have the texture I was looking for. Add to that, they were way too sweet. (And I have a HUGE sweet tooth.) Nice try but it isn't for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JLADY
These bars are absolutely addicting! The perfect "I have to have something sweet" snack!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: AMY KATE
I found these bars to be quite crumbly with the crust not sticking together enough. Good flavor, however, similar to a granola bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes