My Reviews (544)

Six Loaves of Wholemeal Bread

This is a great and quick way to make six loaves of fantastic wholemeal bread. A mixer with a bread hook really saves time.
Reviews (544)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
LTLWNG said:
Used different ingredients. I bake bread every week, sometimes twice a week, and this is the best recipe I've ever used. It makes great baps, too, and rolls and the recipe follows exactly like it is written. Also recently I omitted the oats and added wheatgerm and about 1/3 extra dark brown sugar and it's great, too. If you have trouble getting your loaves even, just roll the dough out in one long even roll and use a tape measure to measure it into equal pieces and cut it and then roll the pieces into loaves.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
HAZYRIGBY said:
Used different ingredients. Wow...this is amazing. I had never made bread before, and I didn't have a bread machine OR a large mixer...and it still turned out great! I kneaded the dough according to the instructions, and I used honey in place of the brown sugar. Perfection! It makes shop-bought bread taste sickening. My husband and I finished off the first loaf in less than one day!
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Took shortcuts. This recipe was rather easy for a bread recipe and made good bread. There was no way that we could eat 6 loaves of bread before they went bad so after I let the dough rise the first time and shaped the loaves I froze the dough. This was very easy, just once the loaves are shaped cover them in cling film before they are allowed to rise. Then freeze them in a plastic freezer bag. I've heard that you can keep the dough like this for up to 3 months, but I am not sure. When you are ready for a fresh loaf just unwrap the dough and place it in the tin, cover and let rise. It will take several hours to thaw and rise, but it will. A very easy way to always have fresh homemade bread!
 
01 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: gem2411
I love this bread, its so easy to make and tastes great. And it stays fresh for about a week or so, which is brilliant as homemade bread often goes stale so fast. As I live in the uk and its usually raining (therefore more moisture in the air) I don't normally need as much white flour as the recipe states, but you have to judge that when you make it as it says in the instructions. I now also cut the sugar and oil down by a third to make it a little less calorific, and I use golden caster sugar instead of soft dark brown because thats what I have, it still tastes great.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: jsrecipes
Great recipe. I made it without a mixer or any high tech gadgets, just some elbow grease, a bowl and an oven. It's my first time ever trying to make bread, and I'm enjoying it now with my tea! Great recipe.
 
13 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: HOPEFULCRAFTY1
This recipe was rather easy for a bread recipe and made good bread. There was no way that we could eat 6 loaves of bread before they went bad so after I let the dough rise the first time and shaped the loaves I froze the dough. This was very easy, just once the loaves are shaped cover them in Saran Wrap before they are allowed to rise. Then freeze them in a ziplock bag. I've heard that you can keep the dough like this for up to 3 months, but I am really not sure. When you are ready for a fresh loaf just unwrap the dough and place it in the pan, cover and let rise. It will take several hours to thaw and rise, but it will. A very easy way to always have fresh homemafe bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: LTLWNG
I bake bread laboriously every week, sometimes twice a week, and this is the best recipe I've ever used. It makes great hamburger buns, too, and rolls and the recipe follows exactly like it is written. I didn't have quick oats, so I used some regular oats that I chopped up in the blender first. Also recently I omitted the oatmeal and added 1 cup of wheat germ and one cup of wheat bran and about 1/3 extra brown sugar and it's great, too. This recipe is the best. It's the recipe I've been hunting for. If you have trouble getting your loaves even, just roll the dough out in one long even roll and use a tape measure to measure it into equal pieces and cut it and then roll the pieces into loaves. You can also rise this dough in the oven by letting the temp. get to 150 and cracking the oven door while you cook and then put an oven mit on the rack, put the dough in a bowl on top of that, cut the oven off and leave it for an hour with the light on. Rise the loaves the same way cutting a long slit in the tops first and then when they're almost as high as you want, just turn your oven up to 350 and leave them there to bake for 30 minutes (cut 5 min. so the bottoms won't brown too much). Make sure you leave room at the top of the oven so the loaves don't hit the top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: HAZYRIGBY
Wow...this is amazing. AMAZING. I had never made bread before, and I didn't have a bread machine OR a large mixer...and it still turned out great! I kneaded the dough according to the instructions on this site, and I also followed another person's suggestion and used honey in place of the brown sugar. Perfection! It makes store-bought bread taste sickening. My husband and I finished off the first loaf in less than one day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: CDavis
What an excellent all-purpose sandwich bread! It has such a lovely texture and delicate taste, no doubt from the oats and brown sugar. I made the recipe as written but with the following two alterations: 2 cups old-fashioned (rolled) oats in place of the 2 cups quick-cooking oats 9.5 cups all-purpose unbleached flour + 0.5 cup vital wheat gluten in place of the 10 cups of bread flour Also, I only baked one loaf today... after the first full rise, I shaped the dough into six loaves and stuck five into oiled ziploc freezer bags and put them into my deep freezer. I'll just pull them down as needed, let thaw and rise again, and then bake. Thanks, J. Drury, for an excellent recipe--I will be making this often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: COZYCUISINE
Just bit into my very first loaf of homemade bread. Whoa baby, that was good! My 11 year-old loved it too. And it only cost me $2.00 for the entire batch. I buy bulk, it's cheaper. Even the yeast. NOTE: 3(.25 oz dry active yeast)is equal to 1-1/2 TBSP of dry active yeast,if buying bulk. I froze the other 4 loaves (pre-baked) for later enjoyment. I melted some butter w/ fresh chopped bay leaves & used it to dip the bread in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes