My Reviews (23)

Calamari in Wine and Cream Sauce

This seafood pasta is incredibly rich and creamy. Your guests will think you slaved over it for hours!
Reviews (23)


09 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: tru2blue
Yummy. I'm always looking for new ways to serve seafood as my husband is a pescatarian (no meat, only seafood). I thought calamari would be a real challenge, and I expected to have to make an alternative meat dish for myself and my 12-year-old son. WRONG! We all loved the dish. I didn't have cherry peppers so I just left them out since previous reviewers thought it too hot anyway...I used a little extra red pepper flakes and a little extra garlic and went liberal with the parmesan when serving. Delicious! We all really loved it. I also used gemelli instead of fettucine and it worked well. I will use it again and I will get the cherry peppers because I think it will only make it better. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: kissthecook
I read the previous review and decided in order to not make this recipe too hot, I'd use an orange bell pepper instead of the spicy peppers. That may have been a mistake, because I found the recipe to be very bland. The sauce was indeed very thick, pasty and not very tasty. I also thought the recipe should call for more squid. The sauce and pasta were so overwhelming, I had forgotten that this was a calamari recipe. If I were to make it again, I'd double the squid, use 1 tbsp of starch for thickening, and keep the spicy peppers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: unfurledgirl
A popular dish even with kids! I had bought a bag of 'seafood mix' from Aldi and wasn't sure what to do with it. Had calamari, shrimp and scallops. Made this sauce to go with it although I didn't have the cherry peppers. Served with the pasta for a different and tasty dinner. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2009
Reviewed by: Jen Johnson
Very nice sauce! I didnt have the peppers, so I skipped them, and I switched the basil for green onions. It was still a very nice sauce! I might try it with shrimp next time. I think the peppers sound really yummy, I just didn't have any on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Jackie
VERY good. Although I'm not a "hot foods" person I enjoyed this very much. I will make it again but will halve the peppers (just a bit too spicy for my taste), add a can of diced tomatoes (the sauce was a bit thick and I thought it may benefit from tomatoes), and double the basil (LOVE basil). Thanks for the recipe! Of course, a cook from Boston must be a GOOD cook!!! (I'm from Mass, too!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: BRTW
Great creamy sauce! I substituted the cherry chilis for 3 serrano peppers as I don't have access to cherry chilis. Used ~1/8 tsp of chili flakes and this was nicely flavoured. I enjoy spicy food but I didn't find this to be very hot - it simply has a nice flavor with a bit of kick. For those that prefer it milder I'd suggest just using 1 pepper (you can even remove the seeds if you're really worried) but don't completely exclude them as they are integral to the original taste of this dish. I also used shrimp instead of calamari.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Lady Wake
I made this sauce with shrimp and tossed with linguini. I made it again only tossed about half the sauce with pasta and poured the rest over tilapia fillets. The sauce was nice and tasty without over powering the seafood, this will be my new key Creamy White Wine Sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: kitchenmarea
The calamari were delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2014
Reviewed by: Elena D3LV
Made this sauce to go over lobster ravioli. I had Gewürztraminer on hand so used that for the wine but I think next time I will use a Chablis or a Riesling. Didn't have any heavy cream so I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 which worked out perfectly (and kept the calories and fat to a minimum). Kept the ratio noted in the recipe and it thickened up just fine. Of course, I used 5 garlic cloves and the delicate lobster was still not overwhelmed. Perfect recipe for two!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Brasco
Excellent
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes