My Reviews (152)

Quick Calamari

Who needs a fish and chip shop when it is this easy to cook calamari? Buy fresh, slice, dust and fry. Serve with salad.
Reviews (152)


29 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Desi's Delectables
I am from Spain and one thing you must add to this recipes is 1/2 Tbs of Superfinly chopped Garlic (or galic powder will do just fine too) and 1/2 Tbs dried parsley. It adds the true spanish flare to this classic dish. Do this and this recipes will be well over 5 stars. Make some Aioli from this site and WOOOHOOO, mouth watering goodness awaits your taste buds
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: FMDEMAY
This was one of the best Calamari recipes I've used - and easy! The key to tenderness is to NOT overcook in the oil - even if it does't look quite as golden brown as you like. Just follow the recipe exactly. I served the calamari with the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" recipe and homemade tartar sauce. A green salad completed this dinner. This recipe is another reason why I choose Allrecipe.com's 5* recipes - just delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2002
Reviewed by: JOSEPH FORTUNATO
Excellent recipe. Very tender. What about a good dipping sauce? Maybe with a little heat. I'll check Back to see if anyone posted one. Thanks. Fortchy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: tiggzangel
I've found that with this recipe, you dont want to cook the squid for more than 2 minutes, I cook it for 2 minutes with a few pieces in the pot at once ( dont cook to many pieces at once or the temp. of the oil will drop. I cook on avg 8 pieces at a time ). My family just loves this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DOREENBUCH
This is great!!!! We love calamari, and a local restaurant here just serves it w/ a nice, spicey marinara sauce - it is a favorite at this local Italian rest. I love the Classico Sweet Basil Marinara sauce -- but I doctor it up. I add crushed red pepper(to taste, and we like it spicey), white wine, and a little bit of sugar to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Lillian
I always use the following ingredients to season the batter so that blandness is never a problem...2 cloves crushed garlic, 1 cup flour seasoned with 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. baking powder and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Add enough water to this mixture to make a slightly thick batter. Mix thoroughly. Dip the calamari rings into this batter then coat with plain (unseasoned) breadcrumbs. Then deep fry (in small batches) for 1-2 minutes at about 375*F. Serve with marinara sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: MIKE_W1234
This was EXACTLY what I was looking for.....thank you very much for putting it on here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Lo
My Nana is from Itlay and calamari was one of her favorite foods. I had no idea how to cook with calamari but I found this recipe and made this for her for her 95th birthday. I believe it was one of her favorite things she had eaten in recent years. The only change I made, upon recommendation from my fish monger, was to soak the calamari in milk for 15 minutes after cutting it up but prior to dredging it in flour. The calamari came out perfect. I applaud this recipe for being so simple and delicious, and for allowing me to memorialize my Nana on her birthday. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: The Stately Raven
Quick, easy and tender. It took away my fear of overcooked "rubberbands" with the very first bite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Huck
I have made this twice now, and both times it's come out awful. After the first time, I assumed from the reviews it that it had to be my fault, but now I'm not so sure. Both times I made it, it was lacking flavor. Really needed more spice or something. It was like eating a bisquit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes