My Reviews (99)

Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce

A basic tomato pasta sauce is a great thing to have in the freezer or fridge so you'll always have a quick meal ready.
Reviews (99)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Something else. I used extra virgin olive oil. I also saute minced garlic, celery, onion and carrots in oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I always add a bay leaf while simmering (don't forget to remove before serving)! I use this sauce at least once a week. Somtimes I double the recipe and freeze what is left for the next dish.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
WEGATES said:
Something else. I make this sauce quite similar. The difference in mine is I use extra virgin olive oil, I'm guessing about 1/2 tablespoon of oregano and I use a bay leaf instead of basil leaves. I also cut 2 carrots cut in half and just throw them in the sauce. That cuts down on the acidity without having to add sugar and then you can easily remove them. Sometimes we throw in a red chilli to give it some heat. This sauce is the traditional sauce my mum and sisters have cooked for years that we've all carried on from my Nonna and we're all Italian. Thanks for this one.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Ivora
Very close to authentic Italian sauce, but you need to add lots of fresh basil and use ONLY olive oil. A tiny bit of sugar is needed to cut down the acidity.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Bahu said:
Used different ingredients. This was a simple and easy recipe to use i added some crushed dried chillies to add a little bite to it.
 
27 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LADYC20054
Very close to authentic Italian sauce, but you need to add lots of fresh basil and use ONLY olive oil. A tiny bit of sugar is needed to cut down the acidity.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Prendila
I make this sauce quite similar. The difference in mine is I use extra virgin olive oil,I'm guessing about 1/2 tablespoon of oregano, and I use a bay leaf instead of basil leaves. I also cut 2 carrots cut in half and just throw them in the sauce. That cuts down on the acidity without having to add sugar and then you can easily remove them. Sometimes we throw in a hot red pepper to give it some heat. This sauce is the traditional sauce my mom and sisters have cooked for years that we've all carried on from my Nonna and we're all Italian. Thanks for this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also saute minced garlic, celery, onion and carrots in oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. I alway add a bay leaf while simmering (don't forget to remove before serving)! I use this sauce at least once a week. Somtimes I double the recipe and freeze what is left for the next dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: doughok
Wonderful recipe to make and then freeze for use in the winter. I make several batches and after thawed and heating, add cooked sausage, mushrooms, etc. Vegetable stands will usually sell you their seconds(some bruises on them) at a cheap price and work perfectly for the sauce. I also add salt and pepper, oregano and thyme after the first two hours. Also, a tsp of sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: VD711
Easy to make and a nice basic tomato sauce. The flavor was really nice, although I used dried basil and did add about 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese. Also, used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil...better flavor. The only thing I would change next time is to add a little less water because I prefer a slightly thicker sauce. All in all, really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: mduval
This is the best tomato sauce I have ever tasted! It is very rich and tasty. For a more authentic taste, I added 3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and used olive oil as well. It was lovely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes