My Reviews (29)

Homemade Tomato Sauce

Tomato sauce is a fundamental condiment but so few people make their own! Homemade tomato sauce tastes a little different but it's fresh and lovely.
Reviews (29)


15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Cristina Hillman
Absolutely by far the best ketchup recipe ever! Thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Terri
Very good. Followed exact recipe. A little different flavor than store bought, but MUCH tastier!! I added a little cayenne to the finished product to give a little kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Janet Claire Hull
I don't like shop bought ketchup, so never have any in the house. However, my brother is due to visit at the weekend, and he loves the stuff. So I thought I'd make some to please him. I went to work on the sauce, but had to alter some ingredients. I hadn't got any fennel, so used 4 sticks of celery. For the molasses, I used dark soft brown sugar, and for the cloves, I used half tsp ground cloves. It only needed to cook for about two and a half to three hours. It would have dried out completely if I'd left it any longer. It was overpowering with the smell of cloves while cooking, but luckily doesn't taste of them. It didn't make very much. I'm not sure how big each portion is meant to be, but I don't think the amount I have will make 16 portions. I've covered two large pizzas and only a medium size jar for my efforts, so it works out quite expensive. But all in all, I love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Rosemary Mattson
Like the other reviewers, I used fennel seed instead and omitted the anise. I added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and turmeric. It made 3 pints. The taste is great! I will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: katrinia17
I don't know what happened but no one liked it. It just was too paste like for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: transconjohn
I jumped into the fray with this recipe and I absolutely love it... I must say I used it as a guideline and took several liberties. I read all the reviews and took a lot of substitution advice. Fennel seed instead of fennel bulb. I added ginger. I used anise & clove extract since I had them on hand and wanted to save the money. I crock potted the entire thing, then reduced it on the stove and then used the Magic Bullet to turn it into a paste. I didn't strain the results as I kinda like the thicker consistency. All in all the flavor is amazing! It floors me how easy some of my favorite items are to make at home, IF you have the time...and I seem to drag everything out. But I enjoy the kitchen and the process. Thank You for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Lila
Very good, I added some more spices (allspice, garam masala). Great recipe, I'll make some more
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Hades Kitchen
i tried this and loved it, rave reviews from family and friends too. i have a ninja blender and saw no need at all to strain the product. i would like to know if it can be water bath canned for long term keeping? or how long it will stay fresh in the fridge. highly recommended though. and i loved the fennel added to it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: MEDFORD63
Delicious! I didn't think the anise flavor was overwhelming at all, but then again I like licorice. I served this at a dinner party and got mixed opinions. I thought it was a touch too sweet but others disagreed. Some thought it could do without the star anise. I will probably omit it in the future just because I don't usually have it on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes