My Reviews (29)

Homemade Tomato Sauce

Tomato sauce is a fundamental condiment but so few people make their own! Homemade tomato sauce tastes a little different but it's fresh and lovely.
Reviews (29)


22 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: GREENIE2600
No, sir...I didn't like it. Way too much fennel/anise flavor; aside from that, it was just kind of like tomato paste. I didn't have fennel pods, so I used a teaspoon of fennel seeds instead - maybe that was the problem. Still, the texture and the overall spirit of the thing just aren't what I wanted. Next time, I'll use a more traditional ketchup recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jenn Haney
It's not Heinz but if you want to try to make your own ketchup this is the recipe to try. It's very easy to make and it has a great taste. I just wish it was as smooth as the commercial ketchup (it has an applesauce texture to it). Maybe putting it through some cheese cloth might help.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: ERRINL
I'm giving it 5 for flavor. I loved the spicy, garlic, licorice flavor. It's a great substitute for Heinz. My only question is if anyone's try had the consistency of cocktail sauce. I wasn't too sure on the reducing and the puree procedures. I would recommend adding a little more detail please. It's rather vague and kept me guessing. By sheer dint of will I refused to give up. Thanks. I've got a new and fun recipe for future dates.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Mama Cass
My mom once made a wonderful homemade ketchup when I was a kid, so I guess I was trying to find a similar recipe. Unfortunately, this wasn't it. Although a tasty departure from bottled ketchup, the anise flavor is a bit strong for my family's taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: LIBIS
Fresh ketchup is quite different from the store-bought stuff, but so nice! We used fresh tomatoes from the garden, so this was awesome! It doesn't make much for the effort, so I'll double or even triple the recipe next time... we used it to make the Blackberry BBQ Sauce... very nice! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2009
Reviewed by: KARISLR
This is fabulous! I used fennel seeds and it was still good. Will defintely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Marte
I made a few changes to this like most folks. I used 6 quarts of tomatoes from my garden, and used what I had on hand in rough proportion to the greater amount of tomatoes. Clove oil (6 drops-used in Christmas hard candy) and 1 1/2 caps anise extract for the fennel, star anise and cloves. 2 heaping Tbl minced garlic. Balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar. Brown sugar for white. It was way too sweet at first, but I left the sugar out of the 2nd batch and mixed them together. Simmered for about 6 hours and it is STUPENDOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Mick
This is awesome!! I make Pho (Vietnamese noodle soup. I use star anise for that dish as well. My wife doesn't care too much for ketchup. She loves this. I am going to try and tripple the batch so that I can do some canning. I had fresh basil leaves from my garden. That added a twist. Excellent recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SAIKEN
My kids love to make this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Jennifer W.
I really like this ketchup and so does my 2.5 year old. I use half the amount of tomatoes and replace with cauliflower. Turned out great, no one knew they were eating cauliflower until I told them. Definitely a unique flavor, not like the bottled stuff you get at the store. We will use this as a go to ketchup recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes