My Reviews (29)

Homemade Tomato Sauce

Tomato sauce is a fundamental condiment but so few people make their own! Homemade tomato sauce tastes a little different but it's fresh and lovely.
Reviews (29)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AMANDERS13
This turned out better than I expected. The flavour is a little strange... but in a good way, if that makes any sense! I personally don't think it is anything like regular tomato sauce; I thought it was almost like a spicy savoury apple sauce. Anyway, I removed the cloves and star anise before blending it, and I had to push it through the sieve because it was so thick. (PS If, like me, you don't want to buy large and expensive amounts of spices you don't use very often, check out your Indian shop - I buy a 40g bag of Mixed Spices, including cinnamon sticks, cardamon, cloves, star anise and peppercorns, when I need it)
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
DBLBASSCHIC said:
Used different ingredients. i've made this tomato sauce three times already and anyone who tries it, loves it! instead of the fennel bulb, i use ground fennel and replace the salt with sea salt. i've never strained it because the consistency has always been fine. every homemade tomato sauce i've tried has been a bit thick so i don't mind it. and remember to dump out your crappy store bought tomato sauce and use the empty bottle for your awesome home-brewed one!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Monzie
My mum once made a wonderful homemade tomato sauce when I was a kid, so I guess I was trying to find a similar recipe. Unfortunately, this wasn't it. Although a tasty departure from bottled tomato sauce, the anise flavour is a bit strong for my family's taste.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Dora
I'm giving it 5 for flavour. I loved the spicy, garlic, licorice flavour. It's a great substitute for Heinz. My only question is if anyone's try had the consistency of cocktail sauce. I wasn't too sure on the reducing and the puree procedures. I would recommend adding a little more detail please. It's rather vague and kept me guessing. By sheer dint of will I refused to give up. Thanks. I've got a new and fun recipe for future dates.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: anzu
My kids love to make this.
 
28 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: KOOLBRICK
i've made this ketchup three times already and anyone who tries it, loves it! instead of the fennel bulb, i use ground fennel and replace the salt with sea salt. i've never strained it because the consistency has always been fine. every homemade ketchup i've tried has been a bit thick so i don't mind it. and remember to dump out your crappy store bought ketchup and use the empty bottle for your awesome home-brewed one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This turned out better than I expected. The flavor is a little strange... but in a good way, if that makes any sense! I personally don't think it is anything like regular ketchup; I thought it was almost like a spicy savory apple sauce. Anyway, I removed the cloves and star anise before blending it, and I had to push it through the sieve because it was so thick. (PS If, like me, you don't want to buy large and expensive amounts of spices you don't use very often, check out your Indian grocer - I buy a 1.5oz bag of Mixed Spices, including cinnamon sticks, cardamon, cloves, star anise and peppercorns, for $1.59. Bargain!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: BERRYPICKER
Now I will comment after the fact. This ketchup turned out to be very tasty. I used a little green pepper in my first batch, fennel seed rather than the bulb, and a lot more tomatoes than the recipe called for. In previous attempts to make ketchup, I have used some cinammon and allspice. ( I may go drop a few balls of the latter into the pot that is simmering on the stove right now.) Wouldn't hurt to add some fresh ginger if you had a bit on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ThePittyRanch
I remember homemade ketchup from my childhood and YUCK. Being all grown up now, I decided to try this recipe and it is wonderful. I replaced the fennel with fennel seed, the star anise with anise extract and the cloves with allspice. Original recipe says it makes 16 servings - so figure ea serving is approx 1 T. I tripled it without a problem. I also put everything in my crockpot on high until it was heated through. then on low WITHOUT a lid - cooked it overnight then put everything through a sieve in the morning and back into the crock pot on low until I had the desired thickness I wanted. I plan on making it again over the winter with the tomato juice I canned this summer. Ummm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jaydough
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time, I couldn't get star anise in my local store and so substituted a couple of drops of licorice extract. The result was a great tasting ketchup with a full-bodied country ketchup flavour--better than the commercially bottled stuff. The second time I made it, I actually had the requires star anise and made the recipe extactly as indicated. The result was that the anise flavour was not subtle enough. If you like that flavour in ketchup, then it's a very tasty sauce. Personally, I prefer my first version without the star anise, but with a few drops of the extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes