My Reviews (59)

Cajun Baked Fish

When you have fresh fish this is a great way to cook it, I like to use Redfish. Adjust the cayenne pepper to taste.
Reviews (59)


10 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: DENISE PERRIN
My husband is from Nawlins (New Orleans to the Northerners). He says this recipe is the REAL thing...very authentic. It really is delicious. I made one without the cayenne for our son. It also tasted great, though to my surprise, he liked the spicy one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: DACSALAZAR
my family thought that the fish was a bit to spicy. next time i make this dish i'll have to tone down the peppers
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: bransom
I like fish a lot, and this is my first try with a cajun do. Terrific! I goofed a little in not having the pan quite hot enf to sear -- I nearly cooked the fish in this step! I had also changed a little by using some olive oil in the pan because fridge temperature fish dipped in melted butter just caused butter globs on the first piece, and nothing for the rest. I sprinkled the mixed spices onto each piece with clean fingers ...tidier that way. We had it with ratatouille and a bottle of zinfindel. Killer good! I will do again and, after searing, just simmer in a little of the dressing instead of baking which IMO is an unnecessary, drying out step.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Ric George
Big taste difference from the Louisiana original (from Chef Paul Prudhomme) with half of the spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: LEA1
If you like hot and spicy cajun food you'll love this recipe. Absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Cookin in NJ
Great recipe! I changed a few things. Used sea bass instead of redfish. Reduced cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon ginger. Didn't have lemon pepper so added extra teaspoon black pepper. Used 1/2 teaspoon of "fake" salt. Sprayed on olive oil instead of butter. Made Good Seasons Italian dressing. Dressing called for 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. I put 3 tablespoons of raspberry blush balsamic vinegar and filled rest of 1/4 cup with balsamic vinegar. The balsamic vinegar gives is a subtle sweetness. (um, not very Cajun, but tasty!) My wife said that, "it is a restaurant grade dish". I don't know about all of that, but it was very tasty and I appreciated her compliment!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Jack
While this recipe does sound tasty, members should be aware that it is not the original, authentic "Blackend Redfish" that was made famous in New Orleans and around the world.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: D.LADY
Smply Delisious! I will try this dish again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Colbyntx
I caught a limit of red fish last weekend and wanted a new recepe. This was great and easy! Not too spicy but good flavor. My 12 year old son thought it needed a bit more spice so he added some Tony's! If you have never blackened fish, be sure to get your pan HOT on high and put a little olive oil(butter burns quick at this heat) in the pan and sear in those seasonings until they start to turn a little black but do not burn it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: JANE50
I tried this recipe for supper and my husband and I agreed it was delicious! I was skeptical about the salad dressing, but it made a wonderful sauce. I used "lite" salad dressing, by the way. This is a recipe I will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes