My Reviews (65)

Calamari in a Buttermilk Batter

Fresh calamari is dipped in a homemade buttermilk batter then fried to a golden brown. I like to serve as an entree with a dipping sauce.
Reviews (65)


27 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Robin C.
This recipe is very good however for best results soak the squid in 2 cups of buttermilk for 2 hours, it makes it very tender then drain in a colander, dump all of the squid into flour mixture but up the amount of flour to 2 cups and toss with your hands and then deep fry, I also don't add the oregano, don't really know why but I like it without.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: jwallacemiller
Better than most restaurant calamari. We added cayenne seasoning and Emeril's Essence to the flour mixture, and it gave it a great kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Cook to the max
So light the calamari almost floats off the plate. I've tried many different recipes but now my search is over. This is one I'll engrain in memory and use from now on. Thanks for submitting it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: NainInCandia
I made these last night for Superbowl and they were delish. The only change I made was to add some cajun seasoning. The secret to any calamari is too NOT OVERCOOK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: thedailygourmet
I made some changes to this recipe, first I placed the sliced calamari in the buttermilk and added some emeril's bayou blast and allowed it to sit for 20 minutes. Then I took some flour and added some bayou blast to the flour. I dredged the calamari in the flour mixture and sifted to remove the excess. Then I deep fried it until slightly golden in color, about 2 to 3 minutes. Then afterwards I drained it, and sprinkled about 1 tsp bayou blast, and 1 Tbsp parmesan cheese on top of it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Shawn Hankins
Great recipe. Although I did alter it slightly. I took the advice of others and soak in the buttermilk. I also added cayenne pepper instead of the oregano. I used a deep fryer, which made it so easy. I believe it was a lot better than anything I have had in the restaurants. Will definitely be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Night Owl
Not a fan. . . The buttermilk cooks and burns too quickly in the oil and I am scared the squid didn't cook all the way through. On top of that, I like a larger compilation of ingredients to season my oil fried recipes (cayenne, worcestershire, lemon juice, tobasco, preferred seasoning salts, etc) and I don't usually care for certain recipes that don't use such things and in turn come out underseasoned. . . I don't even think the aioli or dressing could have made up for it. . .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2007
Reviewed by: DaveandKat
It was better than most restaurant calamari I've had! I soaked the squid in buttermilk for 2 hours and used whole wheat flour instead of white....It turned out great! We'll definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: CHELS
We all really enjoyed this recipe. It is moderately expensive because of the squid, but very easy to make. Who would've figured, buttermilk and calamari being good together. Subbed. olive oil for veggie, but that's only because we had it on hand. Otherwise this was followed exactly and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Senushi
I've made this calamari several times. It's so easy and everyone loves it!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes