My Reviews (92)

Mango and Raspberry Crumb Cake

This is a beautiful cake that is made with butter milk and includes mangos and raspberries. I like to eat this for dessert as there is something about the warm pieces of fruit that appeals to me.
Reviews (92)


23 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: carmalex
The best crumb cake ever! I made it as written. I loved the fact that it wasn't real sweet. I also sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar over each piece before serving as the submitted later suggested. Next time I might try different fruits but really, why change a great combination!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2015
Reviewed by: Concetta
Ok so the reason I'm writing this review is because I changed some things and they worked! If anyone else was wondering... I made this in a bundt pan. I put the crumb topping on the bottom and saved some for the middle. I used 2 eggs not 1 and I used almond extract with fresh raspberries. No mango because I didn't have it. I found this recipe looking for what to do with the fresh raspberries I had and a cup of left over buttermilk. Thank you Naples! Funny but you and i have the same tastes in recipes if I see you give something a good rating I usually know it will turn out very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: ihateliver
This is not a true original recipe (with the exception of the addition of nutmeg to perhaps "own it"?). Mango was not a good fruit for this- taste was in conflict with the nutmeg crumb cake and overall the nutmeg also was not desirable in the cake after we tried to eat around the mango! Ended up tossing it. Wont be saving this or making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: BOOKIE
1 20 18 ... http://allrecipes.com/recipe/214974/buttermilk-mango-berry-crumb-cake/ ... This was a popular coffeecake in my house. It even got an "I like this" from K, 18, right away. That may seem like nothing, but usually if I don't ask, I don't know so immediate response? Woooo! :D I liked this too, but it didn't turn out as expected. I didn't add fruit & used an 8x8. 'Wish 9x9s were around still. My 8x8 was just full, almost to the rim; but that was fine. The batter is BEAUTIFUL! You can tell it's going to be good by the batter. The crumb topping, though, didn't bake into a crumb topping. As bizarre as this sounds, it's as if it melted to the bottom. 'Not a crumb on top. It was good cake with a kind of pineapple upside-down cake topping without the pineapple & much thicker, almost like candy, on the bottom. I dunno what happened. I really don't think it sunk through the batter, but it ended up on the bottom. Maybe the fruit has something to do with it?! 'Shouldn't. Dunno. Good coffeecake. Thank for sharing it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: Eyeless84
This was pretty bland. No one came back for seconds or finished there first at that. Will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: William Correll
I was hoping for amazing, but this was average at best, especially considering the effort involved.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: natpavweis
My photo is the one with half the coffee cake missing...because that’s how fast it disappeared. Moist and flavorful; crumb topping just right
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: goughgirl
Naples, I love your reviews and always look for them! They're fun, well-written and spot on concerning the recipes. I wanted you to know that as I listen to news of Hurricane Irma, I'm thinking of you and praying for you and your hubby and family along with all those affected by the hurricane. Keep up the great reviews, Naples 34102!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Baker Gurl
You call it "butter milk mango berry crumb cake"? I call it "butter me crumby"! I made it for the PTA bake sale. Needless to say we made $0 and it's all your fault. You told me if I didn't have fruit I could do without it. So I put in vegetables instead and it was just straight up repulsive. Bleck. You ma'am should not ever make a recipe again on this website.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Kit Ilardi
This was so delicious! I made it using gluten free flour and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes