My Reviews (64)

Coconut Layer Bars

This three layer bar consists of a coconut and walnut base then a lighter layer with vanilla and cinnamon then finally a sweet glaze.
Reviews (64)


05 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: KRANEY
Very good recipe and a great way to get rid of extra buttermilk! I wouldn't call these "coconut bars" though - to me, it was more of a spice cake. Mine baked in 30 minutes (even at 350 with an oven thermometer), so I'd recommend watching the baking time. I omitted the glaze and it was just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: MELISSA42
These were wonderful and made EVEN BETTER with a layer of chocolate chips between the crust and the cake! I doubled the coconut and omitted the glaze also. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: LADOUGLASS
These were awesome! I will definitely make them again. I made a few small changes - I reduced white sugar to 1 cup, omitted walnuts and used 3/4 cup coconut instead, and omitted glaze. Unless you don't like coconut I can't imagine anyone not liking this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
I really enjoyed this. It's more of a coffee cake / crumb cake dessert rather than a bar. I used a little more coconut and did add some Cream of Coconut to the egg mixture. Good for brunch or an after school snack. Hmmm..I think I'm gonna get me a tall glass of milk. Thanks Vanessa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2004
Reviewed by: cinnamon
Great! A previous reviewer was disappointed that there wasn't more of a coconut taste. So I deleted the nuts and doubled the amount of coconut. I toasted the coconut while I preheated the oven. Mmm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: threedels
these bars are great!!! if coconut is your thing, then add some to the batter. the bottom crust is super buttery good and can be used for may other layered bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2004
Good recipe to bring for a crowd. It has a good basic cake/bar flavor that will probably be liked by all. Next time - I might add a drop of almond extract to the glaze before frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: BARBBB
This is a spice cake baked on a crust, basically, and I didn't think the two parts belonged together. No one thought it was a cookie, they thought it was a cake. It was disappointing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: FlushingCathy
Deelicious! This receipe is wonderful but just a little too sweet. I subtracted 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar and use 1 cup of coconut flakes instead. This recipe is another hit from all recipes and it is sure to stay.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: TopDog
This recipe was easy and fun to prepare. It came out of the oven looking wonderful. I was very disappointed in the taste. You can taste neither the buttermilk nor the coconut. The primary flavor in cinnamon. If I'm going to eat this many calories, I want it to have a terrific taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes