My Reviews (64)

Butter Tart Muffin

This is an easy muffin recipe originating from Canada where they are very popular. I find using real maple syrup makes all the difference but I sometimes use golden syrup for a change.
Reviews (64)


30 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MARIAN THOMPSON
Without a doubt, the finest muffin/butter tarts I've ever eaten. I replaced the 1/2 C. of regular flour with a 1/2 C. cake flour to give them some lightness, but other than that *****! Chef Marian Thompson
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: COASTALSUM
I know I have written review for this recipe before, but since then I have made at least three more batches & I found that the longer you leave these in the oven, the more flavorful & less eggy they before (I left them in the oven for 30 min once by accident, & they actually turned out very well). Now I tend to bake them for at least 25 min instead of 15 to 17.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2004
Reviewed by: YUMMYBAKIN
These are super! They are very filling. I've lost count how many times I've made these. Thought it was time to review! I used a little over 3/4 cup sugar. I do bake them for at least 25 min at 350 degrees instead of 15 to 17 at 375 degrees and they have always turned out perfect. Great warm or cool!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: DEANIEBEES
This is the next best thing to butter tarts! They are moist and yummy and easy to make! They were a huge hit at home and work!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: b-unit
They came out tasting fantastic, dispite the fact that I screwed them up a little bit. Distracted by my mother who came over to chat, I accidently added the baking soda into the rasin mix on the stove. Oops! Then, when mixing the batter, it became a very strange texture I could only describe as gluey, with little white chunks in it. I'm not sure if that's how it's suppose to be or not, but as I said, they taste pretty darn good. My grand-mother loves them (she is a buttertart fanatic!) so I will definitely make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: pamjlee
These muffins were okay. Interesting flavour. Didn't think they really tasted like butter tarts. They didn't all get eaten which is unusual in our house. They were a bit dry. May have been better if I had cooked them a minute or so less.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: katydid106
I had never heard of a Butter Tart before trying this recipe. However, after trying these little bites of heaven, I feel I may need to look into Butter Tarts. The unique preperation for these muffins make them a nice change from your run-of-the-mill blueberry variety. Some reviewers noted that the maple flavor wasn't strong...I used pure maple syrup and it really takes these muffins to the next level! I took these into work and they were gone in no time. I will definitely make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: NELLSON66
Very easy and quick to make. Delicious!! These muffins were wonderful for breakfast and were a nice change from blueberry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2002
Reviewed by: MMURKA
These were really yummy, easy to make, and held their moisture the next day. I would make them again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Marlene Lewis
My family is addicted to these muffins, if I don't make them once a week they complain. Excellent dessert muffins. I do use 1 c. regular flour and the rest cake flour, and I double the recipie every time I make it. Thanks for the great recipie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes