My Reviews (615)

Easy Buttercream Icing

This is a quick and easy recipe for buttercream icing. It is useful to decorate just about any cake.
Reviews (615)


23 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Kara
This is by far the best frosting I have ever had! I made it with butter and butter flavor Crisco and I used whole milk for a more creamy frosting. I have never had so many compliments and it's so simple to make. It's so versatile that I made a double batch and used part to frost a cake and then we frosted sugar cookies. I do recommend making sure that you are beating it long enough so as to eliminate lumps of any kind and if your powdered sugar is lumpy, I would sift it before adding to the mixture. All and all- a most excellent recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2003
Reviewed by: JILLLARS
I made the chocolate version that someone posted in their review, replaced one cup confectioner's sugar with one cup cocoa and increased milk 1/4 cup. It tastes awesome and the texture is great! I worked at a bakery for 2 years and this is just like the frosting there, I am going to frost a cake tomorrow.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
This is a simple but perfect, creamy, easily spreadable frosting that is dependable and just plain good. And it pipes well for decorations too! I just used a tad less sugar than called for, and used half and half rather than milk, which were not major alterations. Great frosting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: KEPENATE
I know that a lot of reviews wrote that this tasted just like the kind they use in the stores. Somehow, though, I thought they meant the kind a bakery would use! That was NOT the case!! In fact it was the kind that a supermarket would use. You should use this if and only if you like the cakes sold in supermarkets. It wasn't necessarily that this frosting was bad it was just not what I had hoped for.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: Karl Fish
This recipe is EASY and it's good. It needs NOTHING else. It makes a light, fluffy frosting that's perfect for icing a cake and for doing the decorations. It doesn't run down the side of the cake, or melt. It isn't sickly sweet. It doesn't taste too heavy. It's easy to work with, using a spatula or an icing sleave. It gets 5 stars from me, and those 5 stars are VERY well earned! This recipe is a keeper. THANK YOU KRIS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: SGOLDBLA
This is amazing. Even Ruth Levy Beranbaum's "The Cake Bible" doesn't contain a frosting that rivals this recipe (I use her book as a guide for my cakes). Kris, you are a saint! I've searched and created many a frosting and this one you posted is the most brilliant. What I love most about this frosting is its versitality. I use butter instead of marg, and I only use 3.5 cups of powdered sugar since my people don't like it too sweet. You can drip in more milk to create a fluffy effect or reduce the milk to make a thicker version. Thank you, Kris for posting a frosting that is a perfect compliment to cake. You have changed the face of frosting in my household. I was just about to give up on frosting all together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: AnnaG
When made with butter instead of margarine, this recipe gets 5 stars. Wow! The taste and texture are fabulous. And yes, this really does taste like the kind of frosting on bakery cakes. One hint. If you have some, add about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of butter extract. Purists might argue against it, but if you're looking for "bakery" taste, the butter extract will take it a step closer. Also, I found that this recipe worked best with my KitchenAid. I whipped the frosting for about 5 minutes. Without the KitchenAid, I might not have had the patience.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: RHouse
Yesterday I made a birthday cake for my sister and this is by far the best frosting I've tried. I substituted butter instead of margarine,added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla butter & nut flavorings and added 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice ( add according to taste) to mask the sweetness. And whipped the frosting with my KitchenAid for about 5 to 7 minutes. Perfect for frosting and decorating Cakes. Thanks Kris for this great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2003
Reviewed by: CHANDABOUTTE
This recipe was great but I just had one problem b/c of the humidity the icing kept melting every 5 minutes. I used 4 oz. of cream cheese as a stablizer but it really did not help any. Any ideas that can help me I am new at the decorating?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: GINNYG
Great frosting! Smooth, easy to use for decorating. I did not find it too sweet at all. I used butter instead of margarine for flavor. I used it to decorate my hubby's Birthday cake and he raved! Will definately use again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes