My Reviews (157)

Butter Cream

When topping cakes I like to use butter cream and this is a simple recipe for one I make at home. Note it contains raw eggs.
Reviews (157)


25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: LESLEYCAN
This frosting is AWESOME. It is rich and creamy and very tasty. I might suggest that people had problems with it being runny etc. because they did not beat it long enough in the mixer. Mine was creamy and fluffy and I beat it on high for at least 3 mins. (I also used whipping/heavy cream instead of milk.) Try this! Excellent on dark chocolate cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Smooth and velvety frosting, made extra rich and creamy from the egg yolk and lengthy mixing time. My only caution is that if you need a pure white frosting this may not be to your liking--in that case egg whites could easily be substituted with an equally good result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2004
Reviewed by: JENNYBECCA
This is to DIE for--It really does taste like bakery cake frosting. I ate it right out of the bowl and some didn't even make it to the cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Deborah Mickey Kissell
Good tasting very much like the bakeres. I just don't like the two raw egg yolks in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: suzamo
This is a thick creamy frosting. I beat mine on high for 3 min to make it a bit fluffier. For a rich chocolate version of this frosting I substituted 1/4 cup of sugar for cocoa powder. It turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: TRICIAPAKING
This frosting was the absolute best I have ever used. I make and decorate a lot of birthday cakes and the consistency was perfect for the types of designs I make. Loved the taste too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: vaness1
This was so good! Really creamy, and lots of flavor. I used it on plain white cupcakes, and they were delicious. I could have eaten it by the spoon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: NANVANTREASE
This was a very good recipe. I frosted a white cake with it and everyone loved the frosting. I tinted it green for St. Patrick's Day. I was wondering though if the frosting needed to be refrigerated since it had the egg yolks in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Bex
Very good frosting, my only issue is that the yolks make it a yellowish color when finished, not a pretty white like a real butter cream. The taste and texture are wonderful however. I might try whites next time or a whole egg instead of yolks to see if the color is lighter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: lovestohost
This could be my current fav buttercream frosting...I'm not positive because they all kind of taste the same, but I do really like this one. I followed the recipe to a "T" w/half and the other half I subbed almond extract for vanilla extract. Great consistency & flavor (though, the egg thing did/does kind of throw me for a loop)...TY for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes