My Reviews (359)

Butter Bean Patties

These butter bean burgers make a great and easy alternative to meat in burgers or as part of a bigger meal. I like to serve mine with mashed potatoes and vegetables.
Reviews (359)


07 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: leon
Made these last night; good and easy. I processed the beans along with the garlic and chilli and salt and pepper - then put that in a bowl and mixed in the other ingredients. They cooked up well and held together fine - we ate them with some stir fried silverbeet
 
28 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Christine Noppenberg
Wow, this was amazing!!! I did change quite a bit of things though... I cannot have gluten, so I omitted the saltine crackers and used crushed GF cornflakes instead. Also, we didn't have any butter beans so I used an equivalent amount of cooked, mashed lentils instead. After trying it both ways (lentils vs. butter beans) everyone liked the lentils much better! I also added a little diced green pepper and that REALLY enhanced the flavor, and I omitted the jalapeno pepper (don't like spice). I make this recipe ALL THE TIME, and we never get tired of it!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: MIYE_MCC
This is a fabulous recipe. It can get a little messy when cooking, as it's not "binded" well with crackers, so i now use fresh italian breadcrumbs, instead. You can also dip it in cornmeal if you want a bit of a crunchy outside. It's loaded with protein, and is delicious as a burger on fresh bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2006
Reviewed by: DC Girly Girl
Something different. Changes (of course): 1) Used black beans. 2) 1/4 cup bread crumbs instead of saltines 3) italian cheese blend instead of chedder (just because I didn't have cheddar) 4) 1 minced clove of garlic instead of powder 5) Baked for 8 minutes each side at 350°.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Brianna F.
These are fantastic! I omitted the cheese and jalepeno (my kids were eating as well), used fresh garlic and 1/4c. of bread crumbs instead of crackers. After I shaped the patties I dredged them in dried bread crumbs and let them sit in the fridge for several hours. Had no problems keeping them together in the pan and they are very pretty to boot. The best veggie burger I've had so far.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Rich
I'm amazed by some of the reviews of this recipe, where people say they don't like the butter bean burgers--especially if the authors have altered the original recipe (using lentil or black beans instead of butter beans), added ingredients (extra eggs or crackers/bread crumbs), or completely omitted ingredients (e.g. jalapenos) and complained the recipe lacks flavor. Others complained that the recipe yielded "mushy" burgers; perhaps it was BAKING them, instead of frying them as directed in the instructions. These reviews are without merit. I encourage you to try the recipe as it in its orignal form. I have made this several times following the directions. Friends, family and I and enjoy it tremendously. If you follow the recipe exactly as it is provided, you'll find a flavorful vegetarian burger that is slightly crispy on the outside and moist in the center. I think you'll like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: RGRAWEY
These are absolutely delicious! The first time I made them, I used butter beans. Then, when I went to the grocery store to buy ingredients to make them again, I bought lima beans by mistake. I made them with the limas and they were just as good! My husband liked them better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
These were really good. I didn't have butter or lima beans in the house, so I used black beans instead. I added cayenne to the mixture for a little kick and topped the burger with taco sauce. Nice healthy lunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: JENHARVHOL
i liked these alot, i think others were a little put off by the fact that they were made of beans, but they still ate them! i added alot more jalapeno and onion. also used breadcrumbs instead of cracker crumbs, because that is just what i had. have made these twice-- pay attention to your mixture, if it is not adherent enough you can always add another egg, or if too gooey add more crumbs. fried them in canola oil and served with ketchup. thumbs up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: ERINCAITLYN
The burger's turned out really good but the cooking time is 6-8 mintues per side. That way they have a nice golden layer. A nice varation was adding pesto to them and not garlic powder but garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes