My Reviews (19)

Spicy BBQ Sauce

For chilli lovers only! This BBQ sauce is great as a marinade for beef, pork or chicken. It is tangy and very spicy. This recipe uses habanero chilli, but any hot chilli will do.
Reviews (19)


11 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: sue
The sauce was sweet, delicious, and hot all rolled up in one. It was wonderful on ribs. Absolutely the best I have had on pork ribs. I loved it. Its a keeper. Easily becoming a family recipe for good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Gail A. Guild
This sauce is terrific, with just enough heat to make it addictive! I was unable to find fresh habanero peppers so I used dried ones. The only mistake I made was to puree everything at the end since I was after a smooth basting sauce for baby back ribs. The aeration from the blender made the sauce lose it's slick, rich color, so I won't do that again. I will probably just dice the onion much smaller next time. These are not for the faint-hearted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Based on what I had on hand I had to alter the recipe a bit and it came out sensational. Didn't have any chili sauce so I subbed with two cans of tomato paste. No pineapple either, so I used a jar of pineapple marmalade. Red pepper flakes in lieu of the habanero, soy and hoisin sauce were added in just because I felt like it. Amazing sauce and thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TARAWVU
Thank you, TimSue. This is the best barbecue sauce ever. It tastes just like the Buckeye Barbecue sauce from Quaker Steak and Lube. I followed the directions as best I could. I couldn't find any habenero peppers so I just used habenero sauce. As one reviewer suggested, I added some liquid smoke and instead of crushed pineapple and pineapple juice, used pineapple sauce!! I also did add a lot more hot sauce simply b/c I wanted a really hot sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
Yikes! This is hot and good! I would cut back a little on the heat next time, but the flavor is fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly, cooking it a little longer to thicken. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
No habenero pepper so I omitted it. I have two kids I fed this sauce to, so I wanted to be a little cautious. I did add one teaspoon of Liquid Smoke. I made no other changes or substitutions. I made this sauce yesterday and let it set in the fridge overnight before using it on barbeque chicken today. Very, very sweet. My kids really liked this (my oldest boy especially) but my husband and I were on the fence. For my husband and I, it was just a little too sweet. I think it could use a little more garlic, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: pleasenthankyou
I didn't love this recipe. I would decrease the amount of onion & I found the ingredients expensive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: lgilli
Excellent!! I did not add the crushed pineapple as I didn't have any. I also didn't have the habanaro pepper but substituted a small can of diced chili and added a few dashes of habanero sauce. This will be a regular barbeque sauce in our house. Thanks timsue!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Rob Busch
Great sauce spicy, and sweet. I have made this sauce several times and really enjoy it. I like to cook it longer as it tends to be a little watery if you follow the recommended time. You might also want to throw it in a blended as it tends to have a salsa consistency if you don't (but my girlfriend prefers it unblended)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: terryl
Alchohol smell and taste was strong and it was very watery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes