My Reviews (91)

Basic Horseradish Sauce

It doesn't take much work to make fresh horseradish. It's easy to grow the plant in your backyard as well.
Reviews (91)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: KymInNM
Delicious...impressed my guests and it was so easy. I served this with roast beef - it was amazing!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Esmee
very 'hot' -- good if you like spicy food
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: c-biskit
I wasn't overwhelmed with it when I first tasted it. But three to four days after I made it, it tasted incredible! Definitely will clear your sinuses.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Genie
hubby & I both agree this is great! Thanks Kim, no more store bought for us!
 
25 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Joseph Winklbauer
I have been growing and making Horseradish for around 5 years now. I don't care for adding sugar to my recipe. I think you would like it better without the sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: A Krieg
This is VERY similar to what my Grandmother always made and what her mother made and etc.. I think she only used white vinegar and maybe coarse salt and I'm not clear if sugar was ever added. Grandma would make a large batch once every year by using the fresh horseradish root from her garden. Of course she grated the rock hard root finely by hand! Growing up, this was ALWAYS on the table with dinner, along with the other standard items like sweet and dill pickles. Pickled beets, watermelon pickles, you name it! It was on the table. Some people don't understand the potency of this homemade and pure horseradish and lay it on too thick. Most people prefer this over the creamy style once they've tried it and learn how much suits them. You don't have to like "spicy" or "hot" to enjoy horseradish. Personally, I've NEVER enjoyed the creamy and diluted versions of horseradish sauces. I've always been familiar with this since I was a child. It's so nice and refreshing to use in many of my recipes... rubs for a roasts, adding a hint to different appetizers and dips, and always including it in hearty sandwiches. I'm so pleased someone included this GREAT and SIMPLE recipe. Simplicity is often the best. *** As for how long this safely lasts in the fridge, I believe if the horseradish stayed covered by the vinegar and tightly covered in the refrigerator... and since it's considered "pickling" it should last indefinately. This is a huge gray area and you should be caref
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: JOHNNAGRIDGE
I wasn't overwhelmed with it when I first tasted it. But three to four days after I made it, it tasted incredible! Definitely will clear your sinuses.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Nancy Jane Kern
Wonderful! We grow our own hoseradish and this is a very nice easy recipe. If you want to make small batches as we do, it works fine. Nothing beats the fresh stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
Holy Cow! Hubby has been on the prowl for a good HR recipe (we have a whole lot of "store boughts" that just didn't do & will now be thrown away). This is great. However, at the risk of sounding like a moron, the first time I made this, I bought a celery root (it was in the same basket as the HR root) and well, figured it out because: A. it wasn't hot & B. well it smelled like celery. Needless to say, hubby & I both agree this is great! Thanks Kim, no more store bought for us!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: VOURI
Outstanding! The hardest part was finding the horseradish root at the grocery store. Do not make too far in advance of the meal, as the horseradish loses power the longer it sits.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes