My Reviews (26)

Pasta Bake with Bacon and Potato Top

This is a mac and cheese style pasta bake that includes broccoli then it is topped off with a delightfully easy and tasty topping combining bacon, potato nuggets and cheese.
Reviews (26)


21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: DesertDryad
The Casserole That Ate Manhatten! Just made this, and felt the need to warn others - this makes a TON, and will not fit into a 9 X 13 pan without very careful heaping. I think the problem is that there's way too much pasta. Next time, I would half the amount of pasta, and keep the seasonings the same; the overabundance of pasta weakens the flavor when made as directed, resulting in a casserole that is surprisingly bland, considering the ingredients. I couldn't taste the adobo at all, and grabbed the salt shaker after my first bite, which I never do. All that pasta made it the broccoli, tater, bacon bites hard to find, too. May try this again with suggested changes, but not sure. If I do, I'll post again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: AmberMichelle143
This turned out amazing! I did change it up a little bit and mixed all of the ingredients together in a big bowl before putting it in the casserole dish, and then topped it with more cheese and the rest of the tater tots. And I think next time I might thaw out the tater tots all the way because some of them weren't completely done, but it has SO much flavor both my husband and I loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Danielle Gunder
I used rotelle pasta, way more than 6 strips of bacon and no adobo seasoning. I added a few of my favorite spices and continued with the recipe as stated. It turned out really tasty! I did let the tater tots thaw a bit while i was making the pasta and bacon and still they were a bit cold after 35 minutes in the oven. I'd suggest mixing everything in a bowl before adding it to the pan and then topping with tots and cheese again. I added some fresh cut scallions to the top for a bit of texture and taste. This recipe made plenty of food for 6 people and there are still left overs!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: aznaroses
The men liked it, me not so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2012
Used rotini pasta. Added a lot more cheese and went for a more cheese/butter/roux. Melting the cheese with the butter and adding fat free half and half, adding the cheese and then working the veggies into it. Roasted my veggies with garlic, just a preference, but very good. We went for fat free cheese also. It's fun to make good food and morph it into something we like. Recipe as it stands is great, we just made it work for our new diet! thanks so much, this is awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Stacie Gwiazdowski
This is the best mac n cheese recipe ever. I used a whole package of bacon, eliminated the butter altogether (except to butter the pan) and sauteed the broccoli and onion in the bacon grease after it was cooked. mixed in half the bacon with the pasta and used the rest to top it off before baking. also used galric powder instead of adobo (didn't have any). AMAZING.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2012
Reviewed by: Steph
We weren't a fan of this recipe, it was just OK. The flavor was ok but it was far from cheesy enough for us. Alsom if you are going to try it, I wouldn't suggest making it with fat free milk like I did, I had cooked chunks of milk in it, and I did mix it well before putting it all in the dish! The only thing I did different from the recipe was leave out the potatoes/taters.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Marjie
This was wonderful. I made a couple of minor additions / changes but I don't think it really altered the recipe much. I forgot to buy the Adobo Seasoning so used Garlic / Herb etc, I added a layer of fresh spinach before the adding the last layer of cheese etc, and then because we're not huge Tater Tot fans, we used diced seasoned hashbrowns instead. My husband loved it and we decided we're going to try using Pepper Jack cheese the next time to give it a little more kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: cija
Best Mac and Cheese EVER
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Joanne Lawrence
This recipe is a fine basic but be warned it is NOT at all flavourful the way it is written. Use your own spices and herbs and don't bother with the adobo. As other reviews say, mix everything in a bowl before you put it in the dish BUT (a big but) wait until everything has cooled to room temp. There is nothing worse than scrambled eggs and curdled milk. Forget about the butter, reserve a tablespoon of the bacon grease the way nature intended. To send this recipe to the next level double the bacon and arrange a layer of fresh whole spinach leaves on top of the macaroni, then add the final cheese layer. I grated a little fresh parmesan on top after it came out of the oven. Fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes