My Reviews (112)

Creamy Chicken Casserole with Broccoli

A creamy casserole with tender chicken breast, broccoli and olives in a cheesy sauce. Serve with steamed vegetables.
Reviews (112)


07 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Charli-Girl
OMG! This was the best tasting casserole EVER. The olives is what gives it that special flavor. I reduced the amount of sour cream for my husband and I also added mushrooms! I steamed the broccoli and mushrooms first. Instead of cubing or cutting the chicken, I used the Cuisinart (every chef should have one!). It shredded the chicken and the consistency in the dish was flourished in every bite. I also used the Cuisinart for the steamed mushrooms and the olives. I totally nixed the curry because I heard many bad things about it; the taste and smell and read one review about how they had to throw it out. I also found a suggestion to put smashed croutons on top. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it and my daughter even had 2nds! Be careful, it's addicting! We froze the leftovers and Lisa is right, the leftovers are even better. I gave some leftovers to my Mother-in-Law and freind at work and they just couldn't stop talking about how good it was. Make it today! YUMMY!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RACHELDAVIS
I liked this dish but next time I will change it a little. I thought it tasted a little too much like sourcream so I will put more cream of chicken and less sourcream for sure. I will also make sure and cook the broccoli well before putting it in the pasta. And I would put more cheddar cheese in pasta and maybe top with shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled ritz crackers. YUM
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: MelissaSmith
After reading others' advice, I ended up leaving out the curry and cooking the pasta separately to serve the casserole on top of. I also substituted cream of mushroom soup since others mentioned liking mushrooms in it. I wish I had used frozen broccoli - the fresh broccoli did not cook in 30 minutes. I ended up having to cook it for another 20 minutes covered. Overall, it's a really tasty recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KYMISHA
Do not put the curry on it....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: LYNDA STEDMAN
I was concerned about a dry casserole, but thought I would try it. It was very, very good. The combination of soups and sour cream make for a very moist and delicious casserole. I will definately make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs D
I used ziti instead of egg noodles & halved the sour cream, but it was still yummy. I added an extra dose of curry, since some said it was bland.... MMMmmmm
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Scaredith
We really liked this recipe. I cooked the brocolli, added half the curry to the sour cream and added 1/4 cup of milk to the sour cream mixture, also used penne instead of egg noodles. Very creamy and rich and couldn't imagine this dish with egg noodles. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: mama27
WOW, this is really good mama, said my hubby and then my 6 children all agreed! Didn't use the curry and used garlic powder instead of clove. Also, made it in the crock pot did the chicken for 3 hours and then added all the rest. LOVED IT...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: RVC1
This is a great recipe. I'm not a fan of curry powder so the second time I made it I eliminated that ingredient and added 1/2 medium onion, chopped - lightly sauteed with the garlic and added to the noodles. It was a great hit at a recent potluck I attended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: SuzysMommy
I've love cheesy, vegetabley casseroles but it always seems like it so much processed food. Canned chicken, processed cheese. Nothing about that is real food! This recipe hits the spot on convenience and taste while allowing me to control what ingredients go into it! Bravo!! I used 2 large chicken breasts seasoned with Mrs. Dash Original and Olive Oil, sauteed until cooked through then diced. For the broccoli, I opted for a Birds Eye steamfresh Broccoli/Carrot/Cauliflower blend which cooks perfectly in the microwave. Combined that with all other ingredients as listed with an exception on the sour cream. I only had about 1/2 cup (all I had) but I'm glad I didn't have more. This was perfect! Another 1&1/2 cup would have been entirely too much. I also topped with more shredded cheese and light dusting of breadcrumbs. This was superb!! Very simple!! Time from the very start until I set the table was roughly 1h but 30min of that is in the oven. Not too shabby!! I will be making this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes