My Reviews (13)

Prune and Spice Cake

This is a moist and tasty cake that we used to eat for breakfast when I was a child. I am not sure why this one is deemed suitable for breakfast but I wasn't going to argue about it.
Reviews (13)


14 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Linda Kulferst
Oh fuss and bother..."fat content"? don"t eat so much and enjoy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: sueb
I thought the fat content was too high. Next time, I will try using applesauce instead. This time, I used whole wheat flour and yogurt instead of ap flour and buttermilk. the family enjoyed this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Pitterpat
My husband and I love this cake! It is moist and delicious as well as beautiful. I like to change recipes to make them healthier, so for the fat, I used 1/2 cup unsalted butter, about 1/4 cup coconut oil and about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. For the flour, I used a mixture of white wheat grain, oats and flax that I ground in my VitaMix. I used brown sugar and baked in a large bundt cake pan (see photo above). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was the first time I have ever tried prune cake and I was delighted! I will use this one a lot. It is wonderful with herbal tea. Thank you, LauraT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: girlface
this is a very good cake moist and the taste is outstanding. I put a glaze on mine yum. My glaze was butter lemon and orange juice sugar and powder sugar did not measure but you should be able to figure it out. I used 1cup of white sugar and a half of a cup of brown sugar and i used a teaspoon of orange extract with the vanilla in the cake batter
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Ms Jean
This is so moist and delicious! I made half a recipe for six (6) jumbo muffins that baked perfectly at 350 deg F for 25 min. I replaced the shortening with a small cup of unsweetened apple sauce and 1 tblsp of coconut oil. I cut back on the sugar (which I normally do) by about 1/4 cup, using a combination of white and brown sugar and used 1 full tsp of vanilla. I also added the optional walnuts, plus 1 tblsp of ground flax seed. I topped the muffins with turbinado sugar and walnuts before baking which gave them a nice crunch. The spice amounts are spot-on for a delicious spice cake taste, but even better knowing there are prunes in this (but you would never know it)! I just had one with a hot cup of tea, and it was excellent! Thanks for a great recipe LauraT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: snowday
This is a terrific recipe. Super moist and delicious! It makes a lot. I don't have a 9" tube pan, so mine ended up in two 9" round pans, plus the extra in a bread pan. I baked all three at once for 30 minutes. Also, to stew prunes easily, try one of these methods: 1) Put them in a pan, cover with water, and simmer on low for 20-ish minutes, or until they look plump. 2) Put them in a container, cover them with water, and leave them in the fridge overnight. You can also add a touch of lemon juice to either method.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2012
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This is a slightly different version of a recipe that was passed down from my grandma. I use 2 9 inch round pans and ice with the following recipe: 4 tablespoons butter melted, 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice, juice from the stewed prunes, confectioners sugar and cinnamon to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: K
Fortunately the kids who truly do not like prunes LOVE it. Thanks for this great recipe. With the shells of the walnuts I made my 'hair-paint' at the same time. Lovely!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Alphafive
This is delicious. Spice balance is perfect. I used butter instead of shortening and reduce sugar by a half cup, but this was an excellent way to use up a bag of prunes. I will definitely make this again... and again. Great for gatherings because it's a nice big cake when made in a bundt pan. Just really excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: dimples4u
This is the perfect cake to enjoy with coffee or tea. Very tasty and moist. I gave it 4 stars only because it was a little too sweet for my taste. Will definitely make again, cutting the sugar in half. The sweetness of the prunes shined through quite enough for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes