My Reviews (215)

Basic Homemade Chicken Soup

It's just chicken and vegetables simmered together but it's so satisfying! Experiment with additions like fresh chopped herbs, lemon and rice, or shredded cabbage and cannellini beans.
Reviews (215)


30 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: BobJ
I found I had a better soup by cooking the chicken to the broth stage first before adding the vegetable That way I was able to have the added vegies a little firmer
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
LINDA MCLEAN said:
Something else. Pretty good soup. I used a roasted chicken carcass from our previous nights dinner as I feel it adds more flavour then the uncooked chicken. I also used tinned chicken stock in lieu of the water, along with my usual seasonings.
 
Comment:
27 Mar 2011
karenalien said:
Altered ingredient amounts. It's pretty much like mine but I add chicken stock cubes, diced parsnip and turnip, and cooked barley like nan did
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
CRYSTALYNN21 said:
Used different ingredients. This was the first time making Chicken Soup from scratch, and I was surprised at how simple it was. My husband wanted homemade noodles with it, and it turned out GREAT! We added the noodles to the soup, and let them boil for about 15 minuites, and served. I saved the leftovers, and they tasted even better the second time!!! I also added a bit more water while the chicken was boiling. I will definatly be making this again!
 
Comment:
22 Dec 2009
Linda said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon which is a tradition in my family and I also added a bay leaf and some sprigs of parsley.
 
Comment:
22 Jun 2010
patron said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Saute the vegetables in salted butter before adding the water.
 
22 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
The best medicine for when you are feeling under the weather! Delicious and heartwarming. I used a whole chicken and had some leftover shredded chicken meat which I will use for sandwiches.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
KIM SPIERS said:
Used different ingredients. Wonderful soup, I cooked the soup w/out carrots & potatoes most of the day, adding them in the last hour. For a little extra taste I added some cumin. The whole family loved it, great for a blustery and rainy day
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Marian
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I put two whole (scrubbed with the peel on) potatoes in the bottom of the pot with chicken. I followed the instructions and let it cook, took the chicken off the bone and returned everything to the pot after I cut up the veggies. I then added some frozen veggies and shell pasta. My son has a cold and this soup really hit the spot with him. I really recommend this soup recipe! I put half in individual containers in our freezer and my son, who wants soup every day, will be set for at least a few days!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MARY DOMAZ
Your basic chicken soup recipe found in most general cook books. It is the old reliable of chicken soup recipes. I appreciated the hint to cut the carrots, celery and onions in half. I had always cut them up in small pieces, and then when I would seive the stock, it was messy to try to retrieve the cut up veggies to put them back in the soup. This is so much easier! When I seive the stock, I place a piece of kitchen roll in the seive. It makes for a nice clear stock. I also cook some noodles to add to the soup. I do not like to add the noodles directly to the pot of soup, because the noodles will absorb too much of the stock.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes