My Reviews (2,673)

Creamy Italian Sausage Pasta

Rather than using mince this dish uses Italian sausages with their skins removed. They are cooked with the other ingredients imparting all their amazing seasonings before the cream and pasta is added.
Reviews (2673)


23 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: LCAROLINE
Hello! I am the submitter of this great recipes. I'm amazed at the wonderful reviews, but wonder why some have so much trouble with the sauce. The sauce is not to be poured over the pasta. It's supposed to be added and then mixed to the pasta. Therefore, it absorbs into the pasta and is never too thin or runny.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2007
Reviewed by: BenevolentEmpress
Delicious - hearty and satisfying. We used turkey italian sausage and fat free half and half to cut down on the fat, and 2 cans of Italian diced tomatoes instead of plum tomatoes. I also added about 5 oz. frozen chopped spinach (thawed) to boost nutrition and flavor. My whole family loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Amanda P.
This had a great flavor, and my husband really enjoyed it. However, the recipe does not say to drain the grease before adding the cream. I didn't, and it turned out really greasy--as well as a strange orange color :-). I will definately drain the grease next time. I am also going to substitute ground italian sausage. The links didn't provide a unique-enough texture for all the trouble I went to. Other than that, I would highly recommend it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Lupin Pooter
Hmmm...one problem with this recipe. Made large batch for Mr P last night so he could heat up the leftovers this evening as I'll be working late. Trouble is, he liked it so much that he scoffed most of it in one go - so he'll be on very slim rations indeed! Made exactly as per recipe, only substituting spicy Italian sausage for sweet and basil for parsley as that's what I had to hand. Extremely tasty and presents well - would definitely serve to guests (if Himself doesn't neck the lot first). Thanks for a very quick, easy and delicious recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: spanky
This dish is fantastic and you don't have to change a thing. Just make sure before you serve it, you mix the pasta with the sauce - that is the key. I do have to comment about the last posting. Don't criticize the recipe when you don't use the ingredients that are called for. The person said the recipe was bland, but used turkey sausage and didn't use the Italian tomatoes - of course it is lacking some taste. If you have to substitute that's fine - but then don't criticize the recipe. You didn't make it like it was intended to be made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: DMR
This dish was SO good and really easy to make. I used penne instead of the bow tie pasta and I took the advice of other reviewers and used canned Italian style diced tomatos. That saved me from a lot of chopping. Instead of heavy cream, I used half and half and used corn starch to thicken up the sauce. This made the dish a bit healthier. Since my husband loves spicy food, I used Spicy Italian Sausage and still added the crushed red pepper. When my husband ate it, he was kidding around and asking me which restaurant I purchased this from. I will definitely make this again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
EXCELLENT DISH!! I used only 1 14.5oz can diced tomatoes and then added 1/2 tsp dried Italian seasoning to the tomatoes before adding them to the mixture. In addition, while sauting the onions and garlic, I added 1/2 chopped green bell pepper (maybe next time I'll add a whole one) for color and more texture. It was wonderful. Although all the adults found it to be the perfect amt of spice, my daughter thought it to be on the hot side. So for her sake, I may reduce the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. I can't wait to pass on the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: AbeLincoln
This was awesome. Made this two nights ago and my husband is still commenting on how much he loved. I made exactly as written except substituted fat free half and half for about 1/2 of the cream...just to cut down on fat. Next time I make I will omit the oil...don't believe it is necessary as the italian sausage made enough on its own. Also, I used the sweet (mild) italian sausage and it was plenty spicy. Thanks for the terrific recipe! Made this in no time at all! 5/19/08 Made again tonight. Used all fat free half and half. Also omitted the oil. It was absolutely, without doubt, just as great, without lots of the fat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: dragonfly
I loved this!!! I used fresh red and yellow Campari tomatoes instead of canned - I cut them on a cutting board and saved the juice and added it to the sauce as well. I also added red and orange bell peppers and fresh basil and hot sausage instead of sweet. It was amazing - I will use this again for sure!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Mama Cass
I made a number of substitutions based on ingredients I had around the house: penne rigate for the pasta, a combo of cream, half & half and 1% milk for the cream, ground red pepper (1/8-1/4 t.) for the red pepper flakes, and crushed Italian tomatoes for the whole tomatoes. It was delicious -- a very flexible recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes