My Reviews (847)

BBQ Sauce with Bourbon

This barbecue sauce recipe features bourbon whiskey. The flavour intensifies over time so make it a day or two ahead.
Reviews (847)


20 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: claudygirl
I prepared this sauce, scaled to a half-gallon, for a party last weekend. I used it with the Slow Cooker Barbeque recipe submitted by Brandy on this site. As in my review for that recipe, this was the most requested recipe of all time for me. I was repeatedly asked "what kind of sauce did you use?". 30 copies of the recipe disappeared quickly. I used Jim Bean and oh, the smell in the house while cooking should be made into a Yankee Candle! Tweak to your preference, but wonderful as is. Thanks Kevin ... great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2003
Reviewed by: PENOT
Made this the other day and it is excellent. If you are from New Orleans, I have to tell you, this is just like the Sauce from Bud's Broiler. To anyone not from New Orleans, Put this over a nice hamburger and top with some finely chopped onions and grated cheddar cheese. Yummmmmm......
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: KATYPI
This has to be one of the best BBQ sauces ev-ah! I forgot to add the tomato paste, added 1/4 of a sweet red pepper because I had it and reduced the liquid smoke to 1 tablespoon as I'm not a bit fan of it. We found this to be a bit too vinegary for our tastes, so I eyeballed the addition of 1/4 to 1/2 cup molasses and the result was as good, if not better, than our favorite commercial sauce. This is "my" BBQ sauce. Kevin, this totally rocks our world. Thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: love to cook
Made exactly as directed & it came out great. Put on split chicken breasts and baked at 400 for an hour. The sauce was delish, I thought I would need to reapply every 15 min but this wasn't necessary the sauce stayed on the chicken and came out looking & tasting like I made on a bbq grill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Stripey Magee
I made this with Jim Beam and threw in a couple diced jalapenos. I doubt I will ever buy bbq sauce from the store again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Chef98
WOW. I have made numerous BBQ sauces and this one ranks as one of my top favs. Only thing I do different is to let simmer for 2 hours and not 20 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: KnitOn
So this is what REAL BBQ sauce is supposed to taste like? DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have bourban whiskey so used Irish whiskey. I'll never buy the store stuff again. Canning this up!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Wford
Perfect Recipe. Can someone tell me what method they used for canning? Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jo
This is the Best BBQ sauce I've had. My husband & kids love it. I followed the recipe exactly. I chose not to strain it as I liked the little bits in there. It was perfect. This is all we will use now. Plan on making a large batch this summer and canning or freezing. For the vinegar try using Braggs apple cider vinegar. You won't believe the difference. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Twon
Hands down the best BBQ sauce I have ever tasted! I was a little leery when I started making it (the smell of Bourbon and onions cooking made me want to upchuck). But, after it was all done and sat in the fridge a day or two, it was AMAZING! Smoky, complex, and a slight kick without that ketchup taste. I used it for the ribs in the "Texas Pork Ribs" recipe and it turned out fantastic! Make it, eat it, love it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes