My Reviews (847)

BBQ Sauce with Bourbon

This barbecue sauce recipe features bourbon whiskey. The flavour intensifies over time so make it a day or two ahead.
Reviews (847)


07 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: charlottesmom
KILLER SAUCE!!! One of the things on my "to do" list before I die is to master bbq ribs. With this recipe, I have finally done that! Wow! I used pork country style ribs. First I placed them in a shallow roasting pan, seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder and then put them in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes--turning them once half way through. Then I poured the whole batch of sauce over them and refridgerated them overnight. Today I put them in the slow cooker on low for about 7 hours. The meat was falling off the bone. I put them back in the shallow roasting pan and broiled them on 425 degrees for about 15 minutes to carmelize them. My husband told me they were the best ribs he has ever eaten and I agree with him! Thank you for submitting this wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: ebrunworth
Made this last night - it is definately much better after it has sat overnight. At first, it was too tangy, but after it sat for a while, the flavors began to blend and now it is pretty delicious. I used it to make bbq chicken - yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: ChrisM88
I've lost count of the amount of times I've made this sauce. I've used high-end bourbon and cheap bourbon, and it seems like something mid-grade like Jim Beam works best. I always make huge batches of it to jar up and give out as gifts around the holidays. I live in Texas so BBQ sauce is appreciated any time of the year. You can do 6X the recipe (96 servings) in an 8-quart pot and it'll take about an hour to cook and reduce/thicken a bit. Yields 9 pint size jars of sauce - hot water bath for 25 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: BobNC
Everyone who tried this sauce loved it. It deserves five stars. I didn't have any hot sauce so I substituted cayenne pepper. It tasted too spicy hot when it finished cooking. But,a fter letting it sit for two days in the refrigerator then cooking the ribs in the sauce in a slow cooker, the excessive spiciness was gone Perfect! From my experience in food service and marketing, I realize that if there were a such thing as the best recipe in the world, there still be 2% or 3% of tasters who would not like it. In this instance, they would probably be the individuals who prefer the taste of the bottled BBQ sauce, with the MSG and high fructose corn syrup. I admit that I have tasted the factory-made sauce and some taste very good; MSG will make them taste good. But I enjoy cooking at home and using healthy ingredients (I'm sure Kraft does not use the more costly organic ingredients that I use). My best advice is to ignore the very few poor ratings of this recipe and try it. If you do not like it, alter the recipe to taste. The three ingredients to alter would be: the liquid smoke (for smokiness flavor) the hot sauce (for spiciness or heat) and the brown sugar (for the sweetness or molasses taste). The amount of brown sugar may be changed to taste or another sweetener altogether may be used. Such a large number of people reviewed this recipe and gave it five stars and rave reviews that it is well worth trying.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Terri
Perfect the way it is. I put in food processor to smooth it out because I don't like pieces of onion. I canned this so I would have it on hand. (hot water bath for 25 minutes).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2008
Reviewed by: Mully24
This sauce is a great sauce, I used Jim Beam white label Bourbon because I did not want to waste my Makers Mark or Blantons. Also I read the reviews as others have, and many used Jack Daniels which is not a bourbon but a Tennesse sippin whiskey so that may give you a little different taste, Also some commented that they would not give it to youth because of the alcohol. I would like to point out that alcohol evaperates at around 160-170 degrees so unless you did not cook this sauce there will be 0% alcohol in it. But other than my pet peeves reguarding Bourbon this is a great sauce, Try adding just a tablespoon of some blackstrap molases for added depth and a little darker color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: DeeDee
Just don't understand what the other reviewers see in this. The whiskey was overly aggressive as a flavor, and the sauce just didn't know what it wanted to be: sweet, hot, smoky...so it just turned out as a mish-mash of flavors. I'm not a sauce snob, but both my husband and I just said not to this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2010
I didn't pre-cook this sauce - I put all the ingredients into my slow cooker with some fresh cooked beans and sauteed onion, garlic, and sausage. Let cook on high for a couple hours - until bubbling - then low for the rest of the day. To address those that prefer to decrease the cider vinegar - I'd leave it as is for strong flavored meats - beef, ribs, etc... - but would cut it in half for chicken and baked beans.....Thanks for the fantastic recipe - perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: DOTMAYTRX
made this to go with the pork for sandwich recipe on this website and the combo was fantastic. Didn't have to change a thing about it. Left it with the onions in....yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2009
Reviewed by: Robograndma Davis
Made this after reading most of the reviews thank you Diyeana for the up date on cheap bourbon use. was able to make this coast effective enought to can some for ues anytime I wish. Everyone form hubby to grandsons loved it. I used brownsugar splenda blend and not as much hot sauce,but that's what our family likes. Thanks Kevin for a wonderful recipe. *** Up Date still the best recipe for my family. Used the last jar I caned at christmas and I was the best by far. Making more this summer to give as gifts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes