My Reviews (847)

BBQ Sauce with Bourbon

This barbecue sauce recipe features bourbon whiskey. The flavour intensifies over time so make it a day or two ahead.
Reviews (847)


30 May 2006
Reviewed by: Diyeana
Update: I figure out this tastes the same no matter which bourbon whiskey I use. I now pick up one of the cheapest bottles they have and it's great. Original: This deserves more than 5 stars! I made this for Memorial Day BBQ and it was wonderful! Used Maker's Mark and didn't change the recipe other than adding a bit more hot sauce. Cooked it outside on the grill on Saturday for Monday's BBQ. I strained the onions out and I wish I would have followed some other suggestions of cutting the onions into wedges to make it easier, but it all worked out in the end. Letting the chicken soak in the BBQ sauce for 24 hours from yesterday until today made it even better!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Jayvay's eat gallery
This recipe is off the chains!!!! I used it four times already since November. The last time I've made it, I used a crockpot and made a gallon of it. My family and I went bowling while this was in the crockpot. When we left I set it on low. Five hours later, we returned and the whole house smelled like sauce. It was great! I sat it in the fridge for 48 hours. Wow, what a sauce. I do not buy that junk in the stores anymore. THANKS HOMIE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Hey Kevin Why haven't you bottled this stuff? Its the best we've ever tried. We love BBQ sauce on pulled pork, baby backs, and country ribs. Outstanding. Thanks for sharing. I pre-baked the babybacks for 2 hours on 250, then slathered your sauce on them, put them under a low broiler. Then every 15 minutes, brushed them with the sauce again. At the end of 45 minutes the sauce had mostly carmelized and the meat was falling off the bones. Delicious! Thanks for sharing, Kevin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: GMAN108
I HAVE LIED TO ALL MY FRIENDS THAT THIS IS MY RECIPE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This BBQ sauce recipe is freakin' insane. So good. I made it this morning and let it cook a bit, planning on using it for BBQ chicken tonight. I stuck my finger in to taste it and oooohweeee, this is delicious. I made no changes or subs, followed the recipe exact. This one's a keeper. I can only imagine how this'll crank up the flavor on my chicken!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: SANDIEGOCINDY
The best BBQ sauce I have ever had! Made sauce the night before making the Amazing Ribs from this website. A true winner! Used Crown Royal whiskey (how can you go wrong with that??) Don't worry about the minced onion and garlic being too chunky. When I cooked the Amazing Ribs in the crockpot, the chunks were not noticable. Try this...You'll like it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Awesome BBQ sauce - I scaled this down just to try it and I'm so glad I did. I added a little more bourbon to it and next time I'll do it in a crock pot and leave the onions in large pieces to avoid the tedious process of straining them out....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: rdmae
WOW!!! I lived in Kansas City for over 40 years and we know BBQ and this sauce is the best I think I have ever tasted. It is easy to make, and it IS better to make a few days before you use it as the flavors meld and intensify. I am going to use this for my favorite briskett recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: LAWBICK
Excellent. Best if left for over 24 hours before using. Maybe a little less liquid smoke and a little more hot sauce next time I make it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
After reading the reviews, I decreased the cider vinegar a bit but made no other changes. Fantastic BBQ sauce...thansk Kevin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes