My Reviews (14)

Easy Christmas Fruitcake

This recipe boils the mixed fruit first in milk before baking which results in a deliciously moist cake. After baking you can ice it for a festive touch if you like.
Reviews (14)


21 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: TORIAT
A very good fruitcake. What I really like is that you make it in one pot that you cook and mix in. I used lt. brown sugar and added chopped dates and white raisins to the standard candied fruit marinated in a few spoons of brandy and apple juice. I also added vanilla and almond extract. Turns out perfect. Make in a big pot, not a saucepan. I used teflon and also teflon pan to bake in. Slid right out. Will be even better after it ages a day or two.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Paula Mathers
The first time i made this i followed it to a "T" and although wrapped and kept in a sealed box it went dry. The second time i made it, i soaked the fruit in brandy over night and substituted brandy for the milk. I left it sealed for a month before trying it, and it was lovely. It also stayed moist much longer than the original one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: patricia22au
Just the best tastiest and moist fruit cake I have ever made .highly recomend this one! I am not a great cook but thisis so easy.I used chinese 5 spices and soaked the fruit for 4 days in sherry....... diverted a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: juleblue
this was lovely ... in fact making our second one tonight
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Audrey
Family members who hate fruitcake couldn't get enough when I made this recipe! I didn't use candied citron; dried cranberries, cherries, dates, and crystallized finely chopped ginger instead. Then I made a syrup with maraschino cherry juice, spiced rum and brandy, drenched the fruitcake and covered for a couple of days. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Ginger
Cake is simple to make. baked 2 smaller cakes & it took an hour in total to bake. Made it early for Christmas. Cut one to taste. really yummy & rich colour & light caramel taste (prob due to using brown sugar) & fruits did not sink..(which usually happen in past recipes). Next time will use white sugar. Keeper recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Jjulz15
Lovely..... first time I had made a christmas cake; soaked my fruit in brandy overnight. Now on cake number 5!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
16 Dec 2012
Catherine8 said:
Well I finally made the cake but didn't have the correct size of tin, I had a 7"x 2" and a 10" x 2" so used the bigger one, did not have greaseproof paper either to line tin, this is probably why cake burnt around edges whilst middle was still cooking, so hands up its my fault. When cake cooled I cut away the burnt edges they were black dry and hard but rest of cake tasted really nice but bit dry so I would add/pour sherry/brandy to counteract this if I make it again. Lastly which I have to mention, I am from the old school and used to working in 1bs and ozs so I had to convert ingredients which was time consuming and annoying
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Catherine8
Going to try Mark's Christmas Cake because that is my son's name (lol) and because I already have most of the ingredients just need to buy dried mixed fruit, citrus peel and cherries. I will let you know how I get on, this recipe is straightforward and sounds easy to make which suits me perfectly. Thank you Mark x x
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: The Boozed-up Baker
Bad for you, but oh so good. I don't think I could actually serve it out fast enough and almost everyone went back for seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes