My Reviews (11)

Budget Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon

This is a good budget meal, ideal for lunch or a snack. You could also serve it with a green salad or steamed vegetables.
Reviews (11)


06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Didn't everyone's Mom make this for their children at some point during their childhood? It may not be high-class cooking but it's pure comfort food at it's simplest. I suggest you saute the bell pepper and onion with a little garlic in a bit of the bacon grease and toss that with the cooked macaroni and cheese before adding the milk and butter. Then, throw in whatever cheese you have on hand in the mix and a little on top and you've got a heck of a meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Christina
We thought this was really GREAT! I made as written with the exception of cooking the onions and green pepper slightly before adding to the rest of the ingredients. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy making my homemade mac and cheese, but we also are fans of 'the blue box', and this was a great way to dress it up! I think next time I may add either some shredded cheddar or buttered breadcrumbs to the top before baking, just because. This will definately be made again! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ccupak
Although the ingredients list is short, this dish was not as simple as I thought it would be. But it is tasty! I sauteed the bell pepper and onion in the bacon grease before adding to the macaroni and added italian bread crumbs to the top. Makes great leftovers too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: amandak23k
I made this without the bacon, I thought it was pretty good!! I did use some leftover vleveeta kind of mac and cheese. I didn't follow the amount of veggies just how much I thought looked like enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: happycows
I thought this was a fairly good but basic recipe. Very easy to make and somewhat cheap to make. I omitted the bacon, although I'm sure it would have added a good taste to it. I did make a few changes by adding a few spices - cumin, black pepper, and garlic powder. Thyme would have been good in it too! I would suggest putting in a little extra milk to the mac-n-cheese and also sauteing the bell pepper and onion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: GINGERLY88
pretty tasty..added some shredded cheddar to the top
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
This is not bad, a good use of those pesky boxes of mac and cheese (bf bought them at Costco so we have way too many) but nothing special. I think it needs more seasoning and maybe a few more veggies. To be fair, I didn't have any bell peppers so I left it out, but it's still a lot of pasta to veggies. I'd add more--maybe some peas, more tomato, and more pepper plus those spices. This makes a ton, so be prepared to 1/2 it, feed a lot of people, or have a lot of leftovers. Bf is going to be eating this all weekend . . .Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: My4boys
Let me just be the first to say that I cannot stand the cheapo mac and cheese from the box. Considering this, my expectations were really low for this recipe but I decided to make it anyway. I used the pre-cooked bacon and did not add the bell pepper since I knew my kids wouldn't touch it with any 'green' in it. I thought this turned out fantastic. It totally upgraded the mac and cheese. Next time I may use velvetta mac and cheese but not bad at all for boxed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: ZOPOOH
I have yet to try this with the bacon as we have made this for years with ground beef. I don't even like boxed mac and cheese but love this when it's made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: cls223
I tried this yesterday and basically liked it, but as written it's too dry. I bought Hodson's Mill whole wheat organic mac and cheese and prepared according to package directions. As one reviewer suggested, I sauteed turkey bacon, onion and green pepper while the pasta cooked. When the pasta was done I mixed together: it looked dry so added extra milk and some shredded mild cheddar. Added some whole wheat bread crumbs on top and baked at 350 about 25 mins. It came out dry, though very tasty. If the original poster of this baked it for 45 mins it would taste like cardboard. I will make again, but add even more milk. Baking time seemed right; I'll stick with that. I think it would be 4 stars with more moisture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes