My Reviews (191)

Blueberry Muffins with Cinnamon Crust

These blueberry muffins have a crust of cinnamon, butter and sugar called streusel. They are best served warm.
Reviews (191)


31 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
The muffin itself is great, not too sweet, which is as a muffin should be. Fluffy, tender and moist. It is the streusel, however, that I didn't like. Even though I used chilled butter as called for, it wasn't until I added two tablespoons more of both brown sugar and flour that I got a true streusel consistency. As written, the streusel is too heavy with butter. Had I used the streusel as is, while I'm sure it would have been acceptable, it would more than likely have somewhat melted into the muffin rather than being the crumb-like streusel topping I was after. Once I "fixed" it (at least to MY liking) all was fine, and I had a perfect blueberry streusel muffin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: TIFFANY REED
This is a really good classic muffin. I used a bit more sugar, 1 Tbs. vanilla, didn't coat my blueberries with flour, and baked at 350 instead of 375 and they turned out great. This muffin had a really nice flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: 1SDELDER
These were great. I added a cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. And left off the strusel topping. I even used frozen blueberries and cut them up into little pieces. These are on the top of my list for blueberry muffins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Chef W
I made these for brunch today and they were just perfect! It was the first time I'd ever made blueberry muffins from scratch rather than out of a box and the results were phenomenal. I had to add about an extra 1/4 cup of milk to make the batter a little thinner, but it wasn't a problem and they cooked up beautifully - I love the streusel as well. I'll be making these again without a doubt!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: jerrydmurphy
The muffins are very tasty. I used half blueberry's and half strawberries. I also replaced about 1/4 cup of white sugar with brown sugar. I believe the richness of the brown sugar enhances the taste of the berries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2007
Reviewed by: acoakley
I made these muffins for the first time and they were awesome! I added a little extra milk, vanilla, and a little brown sugar as well. MMMM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: CANADIANKAREN
I noticed right away that this uses the cake method of mixing. Makes it richer. My 6-yr-old and I decided to mix the berries with the dry ing, so that the batter would turn purple! Didn't try the topping; too many mixed reviews -- just sprinkled brown sugar an top. Used the lower temp suggestion. Very filling, we found. Nice muffin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: MSFLISS
Delightful! Other users have said they used more sugar - I don't think these muffins needed it. If there are enough blueberries, these should impart a natural sweetness. I found it to be just the right level. Delicious warm with a cup of tea, and I'm sure they'll be tasty later as well. Gorgeous!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: jmacsaunders
Great muffins, I added a little extra milk and only used cinnamon and sugar on top and they were wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: tisherself22
These weren't very sweet and the streusel topping didn't work so hot either. They were edible, but I'll not be using this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes