My Reviews (22)

Blueberry Cheesecake with Shortbread Shell

This cheesecake recipe uses a shortbread-style shell as distinct from the normal biscuit-crumb shell. You can of course use any pie shell type you prefer.
Reviews (22)


09 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Beautiful dessert that came together in minutes. I liked the shortbread crust, which was a nice change from the standard graham cracker crust - I used white rather than brown sugar and it was tender and easy to cut and serve. The filling is pleasantly sweet and nicely laced with the lemon zest. As for the topping, I found I needed to add a little water to get it a little saucier. Those who find most desserts too big for their needs, or for those who would simply like smaller sized desserts just so they can bake more often, may find it interesting to note that I easily scaled this down to three servings and prepared it in a 6" square baking pan. In this smaller version, the crust needed just 9 minutes to bake, and the filling only 20 minutes. This will yield four very generous servings, or 6 more "reasonable" sized servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: QueenofSuburbs
Note: The pan used should really be a 9x13 baking dish. Sorry for the mix up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: WestCoastMom
I am rating this 5 stars because of a few little changes I made. I think the author may have made an error by not adding liquid to the blueberry filling. I added the juice of a whole lemon to a measuring cup, then topped it with water until it filled a half cup. Then stirred the cornstarch into the lemon water before cooking with the blueberries and sugar. Because there is so much sour cream in the filling, I added two tablespoons of flour to give it more structure so it set up quicker. I mixed it all by hand so I didn't add too much air to the filling as I like a smooth, silky cheesecake; banging the pan on the counter a couple times also help the air bubbles rise to the top so it comes out smoother. As written this cake is very sweet, by cutting the sugar in half in all 3 layers, this pie is out of this world good, and is a must make dessert if you have blueberry lovers to please!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
All in all this is a tasty dessert. My only problem is that the crust is very hard and difficult to cut. Perhaps the crust should not bake quite as long. Maybe I pressed it into the baking dish too firmly. I'm not sure that would have made a difference. Also, my cheesecake was completely baked and cracking at the minimum baking time. I also added several extra handfuls of blueberries. I added enough water to moisten the sugar before making the blueberry topping. Next time I may add a touch of lemon juice to the topping as it's incredibly sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Dorota
I usually prefer my cheesecakes crustless but this one was delicious! Great blend of textures and flavours, although I did omit the lemon (not a fan). Really enjoyed the fresh blueberry topping as opposed to the canned version. You can taste the difference. Followed other commenter's advice to cut down on the sugar and am really glad I did! Turned out great. **Tip: If you don't want your cheesecake to crack, bake it with the oven door ajar an inch
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Anne
I used this and took a dessert to work. Everyone loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2011
Reviewed by: Helen Lynd
This is one of the best cheesecakes I have ever made. It is easy and it isn't over the top. I followed the exact directions on everything but the topping. I didn't have enough fresh blueberries so I grabbed out the rest of a package of mixed fruit and threw it in. Delicious! I will definitely make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Emily
didn't make the crust..just bought one. the filling was very sweet..i'll probably use a little less sugar next time..but it was good. thanks for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: KristinH.
This is very easy, delicious recipe. I baked it in a 9" springform pan with great results. I had read cautions in a review about the crust being too hard so I baked it for only 15 minutes before pouring in the filling. I served it with some fresh, sliced strawberries that had been tossed in a little sugar and allowed to sit for 10 minutes. Superb!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: hartsellem
I didn't have enough blueberries to do a full recipe so I cut it in half and used a pre-made pie crust. I like homemade crusts better, and since I didn't use the crust in this recipe so I only rated it a 4. However, the part of the recipe I made was amazing and I can't wait to try it with the crust next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes