My Reviews (1,132)

Fresh Blueberry Cobbler

This is a wonderful dessert to make when blueberries are in season. Of course, you can always substitute frozen blueberries instead.
Reviews (1132)


22 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: elainestress
I thought this recipe was excellent. I don't understand some reviewers changing the recipe around and then rating it based on the changes. It should be rated on the original recipe--that's what people are reading.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Looking for something to make with blueberries, I came across this recipe, one I've been making exactly, for over 40 years. I have never found it necessary to change it at all. It is moist, bursting with berries, with a beautiful streusel topping. For me to repeat a recipe as I have with this one, for more times than I could ever count, speaks volumes about this wonderful cake. Another example of how perfection needn't be tinkered with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Ali
I double the recipe and use a 9 x 13 pan. I don't double the fruit, though. I use 2 cups of fruit for a 9 x 13 pan, there's still tons of fruit in the cake. I've also used raspberries, huckleberries, and black berries in this recipe, all of which came out great! Just make sure you toss the fruit in a tablespoon or so of flour before adding them to the recipe, that way the fruit will not sink to the bottom. These are best served with vanilla ice cream and a few berries sprinkled on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: SHANEBS
My friends raved about this blueberry treat and my husband devoured it. I substituted butter for shortening, added 1 teaspoon vanilla, cut the flour to 1-1/2 cups and cooked it for 40 minutes. It was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: cookiequeen
This was very good-the crumb topping alone was sooo delicious. I took in all the reviews and this is what I came up with. I used butter instead of shortening, added in 2tsp vanilla, used 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/4 heavy cream 1/4 milk for the liquid for a richer flavor(can also use 1/2 cup sour cream instead which makes it very tasty too). As far as the topping- I as well used 1/4 cup brown and 1/4 white sugar. I don't think you need to add any extra blueberries-there was plenty. It is a very heavy batter so don't be fooled when you can't pour it into the pan-just spoon it in and spread it around. Does take like 50+ minutes to bake-so keep checking the middle til your knife comes out clean. Def a keeper! If making for a larger crowd..double and bake in a 13x9 inch pan for 1 hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: Jennifer
After reading previous reviews, I used only 1 1/2 c. flour, substituted half butter for the shortening, and added some vanilla (1-2 tsp.) It was wonderful! My husband always eats my treats with a big glass of milk - but he said he didn't even need it with this buckle because it was so moist and light. I also cooked it on 350 instead of 375 for about 40 minutes - remove it when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out completely clean! Great recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: manda
I did not care for this recipe. I don't understand why everyone gives this recipe a high rating but then writes in the review that they made a million modifications. I made the mistake of following the recipe to a T and it ended up taking over an hour to cook (the edges burned while the middle was still soggy after the hour,) the crumb mixture was more like a paste and the total outcome was a dry mess of a what should be a blueberry buckle. I certainly won't follow this recipe again, but I will try one like it with all the modifications in place. Please people, don't give recipes a 5 star rating if you made any kind of modification to it, that is very misleading!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SandyBakes
GREAT! That's what my husband said when I asked him how it was! Definitely don't skimp on the berries! That's what makes it so moist. I did add a tsp. of vanilla and used butter instead of shortening, but I beat the batter with an electric mixer (up to the berries) and used all two cups of flour when I alternated the adding of the milk and flour. It raised beautifully in an 8x8 pan and the top crumb crust was lovely. I baked it for 45 min. Will DEFINITELY make this again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: alohagirl
After reading through reviews, I made several changes that resulted in very yummy results: Decreased flour to 1-2/3 cup, added 1 tsp almond extract to the milk before mixing it all in, used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar (instead of 1/2 cup of just white sugar), and melted the butter. I also doubled the ingredients and baked in a 9x13 pan at 375 degrees for 40 minutes, then turned it off and let it sit for another 15 minutes. The almond extract complemented the blueberry flavor perfectly, and the smell was divine. The use of melted butter and brown sugar also made the topping nice and crunchy. I brought it to a potluck so it was still a bit warm from the oven, and it got rave reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: BGChef
This is an excellent recipe AS IS. I can understand changing things like brown sugar in place of white sugar for the topping, but the amount of flour, the use of shortening, etc. are essential components of the recipe and if changed, it becomes an entirely different recipe. This cake is just perfectly soft, moist, and delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness and amazing blueberry flavor. A lot of people have stated that the blueberries sink to the bottom, but a lot of those same people thinned out the batter by reducing the amound of flour. This batter is supposed to be very thick, as that's what holds up the blueberries, and trust me the finished cake is not lacking in moisture AT ALL. That's probably due to the shortening, so if you used butter instead, you changed the recipe and ended up with a drier cake and blamed it on the flour :O Stick with the recipe and you'll do fine. The only thing I had to do differently was double the baking time. I did dredge the blueberries in flour just in case, but I doubt they would've sunk either way. Add some flaked coconut or lemon zest to this cake for a yummy variation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes