My Reviews (176)

Easy Blueberry Coffeecake

This is a delicious coffeecake, similar to a blueberry cobbler but with its own unique twist. Fresh or frozen blueberries may be used.
Reviews (176)


25 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: LINDALOU2002
I have made this recipe before and really enjoyed it but tonight I added in a few things that made it phenomenal! First: I added in cinnamon to the flour/sugar/butter mixture (1/2 tsp and could have done more). Second: I used buttermilk. Third: I added in almond extract to the cake batter part (about 1/2 tsp). Fourth: I used more blueberries than called for. It was divine! I did have to cook it a touch longer, could have been due to more blueberries, but I don't mind. It's SO good! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: T.L
This one is headed for the Allrecipes Hall of Fame!!! This was so good. It was easy, didn't have any complicated ingredients (I had everything in my kitchen and it's not even that well stocked at the moment), and tasted so good. We had it with coffee this morning. I made it for Father's Day breakfast. It had a simple, old-fashioned very slight sweetness, not the sickening sweetness of store-bought blueberry muffins, for example. I did as someone suggested and added a little cinnamon to the topping, but I suspect this would have been just as terrific without that addition. This is one of those recipes I'll grab when I need a tasty dessert for a party, potluck, housewarming, or whatever! Infact, my new neighbor is 9 monthes pregnant and I can't wait until she has the baby so I can rush over with some Blueberry Boy Bait and say Congratulations Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: FARM WIFE
This was excellent. Next time I will try a little cinnamon in the 3/4C. saved topping. Maybe a few more berries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: JETORIA
Yummy! I added 1 tsp. vanilla to the batter, plus 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the topping. Also used 2 c. of blueberries. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Kathy W.
This was wonderful. My family made me make it twice in one weekend!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: PHOENIXDOUGHBOY
You would think it's too hot to be running the oven in Phoenix in July, but for this recipe it was worth it. Take advantage of the short blueberry season for this, no matter how hot it is outside, and use an entire pint box of blueberries. Really good "coffee cake" style product, I only added some Mexican vanilla to the liquid ingredients. I'm sure this would be good with raspberries or blackberries also. It was excellent served warm with a scoop of homemade blueberry ice cream, too, but can stand alone just fine. Thank you, Hannah! PS: Best recipe name I've seen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: leesandy
This recipe is fabulous! I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the cake and cinnamon to the topping. As suggested by others, I increased the blueberries to 2 cups. I used frozen blueberries that were thawed. I mixed the blueberries in some flour and sugar before putting them on the batter and had no problem with sinking or bleeding. The cake was so light and just sweet enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: *SAM
It was really good and not too sweet! Very easy to make too! Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JT
This was great!! It was very moist & delicious. The only problem I had was that the topping was absorbed when the cake puffed up. But it was still great though. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Suzy Begley Daigle
This was absolutely delicious! I used a whole 8oz bag of frozen blueberries (defrosted, of course) and added a sprinkling of cinnamon sugar on top and it was just soooooo good! Definitely a crowd-pleaser! (p.s. my hubby kept saying that it wasn't cooked all the way, but it's just the egg whites -- they're *supposed* to be kinda gooey) -- UPDATE: 7/24/06 -- I just made this again for my extended family (twice)... the first time I used fresh (dry) blueberries and they didn't sink but I came to the conclusion that I actually liked them to sink. The second time I used fresh (wet) blueberries and it was perfect... er... except for my mistaking the oregano for cinnamon! Yep, that's right, I sprinkled oregano on top. When I realized my mistake (after banging my head on the pantry door a few times) I doubled up on the cinnamon and added a sprinkling of sugar. It was still yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes