My Reviews (396)

Pasta Salad with Bacon

This is a very easy recipe and perfect for barbecues and picnics. These quantities will serve a lot of people, so make less if it's just for yourself.
Reviews (396)


20 May 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Very yummy recipe. I now get requests for it...made a couple adjustments though...use mayonnaise and ranch dressing and add more than recipe calls for since it gets absorbed by the pasta. Also- use farfelle pasta and also add peas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2006
Reviewed by: Krysta Leydsman Fecke
I like this recipe. More importantly, my husband LOVES this recipe. It is terribly simple to make, which is a plus. However, I have made a few changes as I have made this recipe again. I thought the pasta soaked up too much of the dressing as it sat and it kindof lost it's ranch flavor. I add more ranch as it sits until it is the consistency I like. Also, I started using Bacon Ranch to up the ranch flavor. Also, I use green onions instead of regular onions, and add about 2 cups of peas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jharmon27
I brought this to a potluck and everyone loved it. I think it tastes best with the packaged ranch dressing mix, adding buttermilk and mayo to it, rather than bottled ranch. Also, next time I think I'd add sharp cheddar cheese to it. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I make this pretty much the same, only I do half mayo, half sour cream and add a double batch of homemade dry ranch seasoning mix. I don't usually keep shell pasta on hand--elbow macaroni is usually the pasta I'll use. I like to use either red or green onions in this salad recipe. If you can, make this earlier in the day so it has time to set and really let the flavors work together. EDITED: I make this "lighter" now making the dressing from a mixture of nonfat greek yogurt, lowfat mayonnaise and reduced fat sour cream for the dressing, turkey bacon and whole wheat pasta. My family actually prefers the lower fat version!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: 2CHAE
Very good recipe! I added chopped celery and pre-chopped the bacon before frying it. Also, the Kraft Ranch with bacon dressing tastes great for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: ragtopfan06
I also used the baccon ranch dressing. I added frozen peas, chopped celery, red onion and extra dressing. I used whole wheat pasta because its what I had on hand, and no one could tell. Everyone loved it, and it is super easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: E_Engle
My husband and I loved it! We ate it for lunch several days after. We used Rotini noodles instead to add some color. (See picture)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: messena
I really liked this recipe. I have never made home-made pasta salad before. It was super easy. I really like italian dressing and my husband loves ranch.. so I did 1 cup ranch and 1/2 cup italian. It turned out wonderful. We ate it before refrigerating it and loved it. A few hours later we got it back out and it was pretty dry and not as good. We will add more dressing before eating it again. No biggie. LOVED IT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Dawn
I have made this recipe several times and am very happy with it. Yes, I did add more dressing to equal out the amount of pasta, and instead of frying the pound of bacon, I just added a package of the real bacon bits. This gave me more of the 'bacon' taste I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
Great pasta salad! I used green onion and along with some cherry tomatoes, I used a whole bag of thawed petite sweet peas. I made my own ranch dressing using Hidden Valley Ranch packets, milk, and mayonaisse. After it refrigerated, it was delicious - husband loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes